Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I read the other reviews and made a very successful variation on this. List of modifications: less nutmeg, a double batch of crisp, quick oats (that's all I had), almonds instead of pecans, and softened butter. Instead of pie filling, I used frozen unsweetened cherries (thawed of course). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I was really disappointed with this recipe. The amount of nutmeg was very disproportionate for my families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Use crisp with all different kinds of fruits. Always comes out perfect:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very good and easy to make. Next time I'd probably cut back just a little on the brown sugar, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Didn't have enough rolled oats so I added some granola cereal and clad out fantastic! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have used this recipe several times and it is perfect! I have revised by making a 9" pie and leave out the nuts since we have a child with a nut allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great simple recipe and even better with a few small tweaks. Use real butter, make a double batch of topping and make a super thin bottom crust, squeeze/strain and add the juice of 1 whole lemon to the filling and you have a quickie store made desert that tastes homemade! I made this once and gave a few pieces out to friends and since then they've been begging for the recipe or for me to make them a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The first time I made this recipe, it was not very good, but I altered a few things and made it for a party and not only was it gobbled up in ten minutes, but everyone raved about it all night! The alterations for the top included doubling the crisp part, using 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 cup regular all purpose flour. I chopped up the pecans and mixed them into the mixture instead of just sprinkling them on top. Added room temp. butter to mixture (this makes the crisp part actually crispy) instead of melting butter. Added a little sea salt and put more cinnamon, less nutmeg. For the cherries, I added orange zest (1 orange), which gave it a very fresh and flavorful kick. I also used a higher quality cherry pie filling with no high frucrose corn syrup. Would definitely make this again with all the alterations, easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband really liked it but I thought it was too sweet. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States