Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sherry614
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy and versatile fruit crisp recipe! Scaled down for two servings. I used a mixture of left-over cherry pie filling, fresh raspberries and frozen blueberries. Skipped the nutmeg and just used cinnamon. Used cold butter in the topping. Had a little topping left over, so I baked it directly on my silicone mat, alongside the 2 individual ramekins that I filled with the berry crisp. The lone topping baked up like a "cookie crisp" Very, VERY good! I may have to try baking a batch of the topping as cookies on purpose ... I think I would add vanilla and the nutmeg in that case. Super YUM! Thank you ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I'm making this with blackberry pie filling for a family gathering. I predict it will be gone before I head home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Addy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Too sweet for my taste... definitely go easy on the sugar if you're using canned filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
LOVED this recipe! I used agave instead of the sugar, whole wheat flour instead of white, olive oil instead of margarine, and almonds instead of pecans. Next time I will certainly cut down on the nutmeg. Makes an excellent Shabbat dessert that is friendly toward my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
It was good, but not outstanding. It was sweet, but not really multiple levels of flavor. Ice cream would help. It needs some particular flavor, and maybe almond flavoring would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
OK. Nothing great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I omitted the nutmeg and used real butter. Served with ice-cream and whipped cream. It is a fast and wonderful desert if you are pressed for time. If not, cherry pie is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is good, I didn't use the nutmeg and made enough of the topping to press in the pan as a crust before adding cherry filling and crumble topping. This begs to be topped with ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
There is too much nutmeg. I'm not even sure it needs it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My family eats this once a week. Easiest dessert ever! I use all the canned fruits... It's delicious with peaches or blackberries, by the way! I use walnuts instead of pecans and usually omit the nutmeg except when I use cherries. I usually double the cinnamon too. This is an awesome homemade dessert for week night dinners and a busy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States