Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holly Berry
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
You'll want to serve ice cream with this dessert to tone down its richness. I wouldn't eat this dish without 'Breyers Natural Vanilla' ice cream because it's very sweet and rich but in a good way. Unless you have quite a few people to feed, you shouldn't need to double the recipe either. I've never seen anyone use melted butter to make crisp but I would recommend using hard butter from the fridge and mashing it with a fork into the dry ingredients. It should be a crumbly texture sprinkled onto the cherries. If the topping gets creamy and has the consistency of cake batter, it will stay that way when cooked and you won't get the desired 'crispy' consistency of the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is by far the quickest and easiest homemade style crisp I have ever made. Yes, it kind of tastes like a "store bought" one, but hey - it takes 15 minutes to prep and you are using canned cherries (or other filling). Per other suggestion, I doubled the crisp part of the recipe. When I was making it, I thought double crisp looked wierd, but when we tasted it - awesome! However, the can of cherry filling I had in the cupboard didn't have enough for what I like. So, I ended up adding about a layer of mixed frozen berries on top of the cherry filling and patting them down into the filling goo. Adding the frozen berries was a good idea; it cut down on the "canned" feeling of the crisp. Omitted nutmeg, used real butter, sub'd walnuts for pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Very tasty and EASY dessert. My boyfriend and son absolutely loved it. Next time, I will cut nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp...was a little too "nutmeggy", but very good, nonetheless. This would be good with blueberries/apples/peaches too, I would bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was very easy. I used splenda instead of sugar and sugar-free canned cherry pie filling for a low-cal dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was really yummy! I made some changes though. 1st, I mixed 1/2 cup of light cream cheese, 1 tsp almond extract, and 1 tsp vanilla extract in to the cherry pie filling. And, I changed the pecans to almonds, and it was REALLY good! Fresh whipped cream went with it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was very good, though I thought the nutmeg flavor was a tad too strong....I'd use maybe 1/2 or 1/3 a tsp. nest time. I made extra granola/flour/sugar mixture and pressed about half of it onto the bottom of the greased pan and then poured on the cherries and finished with the rest of the mixture and the pecans. I took another reviewer's advice and ate it with some vanilla ice cream--I definitely second that recommendation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I couldn't bring myself to use canned cherries, so I subbed fresh blueberries (6 cups fresh blueberries, 2/3 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar - pour in pan and mix) and doubled the recipe for a 9x13 inch baking pan. I also reduced both the cinnamon and sugar. This got several requests for the recipe when I took it in to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is absolutely the BEST cherry crisp I have ever made! My family loved it, I made it following the exact recipe as posted, it is so easy to make and the topping is wonderful and moist, not dry like most crumb toppings, thanks Holly for an awesome dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wilemon
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
The first time I made this I went by the recipe. This time I changed it up a bit. I made my own cherry pie filling then just dumped all the crumble ingredients in my food processor, not melting the butter. I used 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of oats, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 3/4 cup of butter and a pinch of salt. I added almonds to my cherry pie so didn't put any nuts in the crumble. I also omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg because I really didn't care for the way they 'marry' with the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I am eating this as I am writing a review. This absolutely delicious. My family has been waiting for it to come out of the oven and cool down. The only complaint so far is too much ginger. You might want to cut back a little on it. Other than that...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States