Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was a decent cherry crisp, one of my best friends is vegan and I held a lunch for her. She loves cherries and enjoyed it. To avoid , The "canned" taste that everyone refers to, I used No Sugar Added Cherry pie filling and found it less sweet and as an extra treat, I served Sugar Free Cool Whip for us non-Vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was wonderful... so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lawn, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe was pretty darn good! Because I'm a diabetic, I did make some changes: I used no sugar added pie filling, whole wheat flour, Splenda brown sugar blend, real butter, and only 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. My friend, who is not a diabetic, ate the whole dish in one sitting minus the small portion I had! I'm definitely adding this to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGRICHRDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Very good and easy! I did make a few changes. I made my own filling instead of using canned - I used one can of red tart cherries and one can of dark sweet cherries, and then doubled the recipe on the side of the cans. For the topping I changed the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon, and instead of nuts I added more oats, flour and brown sugar (we are not nut fans in my family). Instead of melted margarine I used 1/3 cup cold butter, cut into chunks, and used my hands to mix it into the topping. It was a lot messier, but the topping came out perfectly crisp and crumbly and I don't think that margarine would have worked as well. Served with vanilla ice cream, which it definitely needed. Overall it was very good! I edited my rating to five stars - I had another serving the next day and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This definitely hit the spot. Yummy and tart, and the topping provided the right amount of crunch and sweetness. Served this with vanilla ice cream and it went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Was way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Didn't use nutmeg. Was quite sweet. Will try with fresh/frozen cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Best cherry crisp I've made! I bit sweet, but the sweeter the better in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I actually used fresh cherries (cooked to a canned consistency, cornstarch, sugar, water, etc..) and a pie crust and put this crisp on top - AWESOME! Thanks so much! I will use this crisp recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I followed this recipe except for omitting the nuts and I found it to be just okay.I think that it may be the topping that I didn't care for.It was kind of like eating an oatmeal cookie with pie filling.I prefer a traditional crisp topping.On the plus side...this recipe is really simple and fast to prepare!Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States