Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My family eats this once a week. Easiest dessert ever! I use all the canned fruits... It's delicious with peaches or blackberries, by the way! I use walnuts instead of pecans and usually omit the nutmeg except when I use cherries. I usually double the cinnamon too. This is an awesome homemade dessert for week night dinners and a busy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great, quick, easy recipe. The only change I made was to add a 1/4 - 1/2 tsp almond extract, according to your taste. Our grandmothers always used a little almond flavor to their cherry anything. Wonderful, be adventurous...give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Montezuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Pretty good but too much cinnamon! I reduced the cinnamon and nutmeg and it was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
OMG>> We all loved this so so much. I did add a bit more butter and brown sugar to the crunch. It was a huge hit with EVERYONE!! Try a melted butter and brown sugar sauce drizzled over the top when cooled. it is so decadent! I will be mking this for the holidays for years to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE536

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemead, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I doubled this recipe and made it exactly as written, except I cut in cold butter in the topping instead of using melted margarine. I thought it was very good. I also prefer it cold, out of the refrigerator. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRYG58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This wasn't bad but a bit dry. The next time, I will add more cherries and less topping. Has possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this today, and modified it as recommended by some other users: used one cup of flour, one cup of oatmeal, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 3/4 cup of melted butter. I didn't have any nuts so I added a tsp of almond extract to the dry mix after the butter was mixed in. It gave it a very nice scent and a little extra flavour, and went well with the cherries. I didn't add the nutmeg or cinnamon, as I think these would be odd with the cherry flavour. Very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
So easy, so yummy and always a hit! Great with vanilla ice cream. I double the recipe for a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
love it and it easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich4kc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I prefer crisps to pies any day and this is simple, delicious and quick to prepare. It is rich and a scoop of ice cream is a nice way to top it off. I haven't tried it yet, but I am betting that chopped almonds would be an exquisite way to replace the pecans in the topping. There is a lot of nutmeg in this, but I really like nutmeg so I wouldn't adjust a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoosierbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States