Cherry Cream Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I read the other reviews and was worried that maybe it wouldn't set or would be too lemony but I followed the directions and it was PERFECT!!! OMG, sooo yummy! I agree that someone must have used evaporated milk instead of sweetened condensed milk. It was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
For Firmer Pie: Try Knox (unflavored) Gelatin. Into 1/3 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice, mix in 1 1/2 to 2 tsp & let it stand for 1 minute (lemon juice will 'swell' or thicken). Incorporate into cream cheese/milk mixture. If you use fresh--crush your pulp or strain it. Do not use too much of the Knox or your pie will be more gelatinous than the creamy texture this delicious pie is known for. Using the Knox means you don't have to sacrifice your lemony flavor by cutting it due to 'soupy' problems and you do not have to add extra cream cheese either which to me, cuts into the other flavors. Try not putting all that 'cherry glop' (sorry, I hate tha stuff) on the whole pie but spoon over individual slices. This will keep pie filling from 'saggin' because of the heavy weight of filling. It also keeps pie from leaking after a few days (if it last that long) making the pie look 'unappealing'. I have never had a problem with soupy-ness or a pie that doesn't set at all. The Original recipe itself just yields a pretty soft texture. However, I experimented years ago with unflavored gelatin because I like my pies to cut 'clean'. This will do just that for you. And because it is unflavored...you don't interupt the original taste of the recipe. Call it an 'invisible band-aid'. I use sweetened thawed strawberries or frozen cherries mixed with sugar. I lost the recipe & knew someone would have it here. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
An older easy recipe to a family favorite. Excellent taste and really easy for the busy working woman or man to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Kirkendall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this using low fat cream cheese and fat free sweetened condensed milk and I made another one using the full fat stuff. No one could tell the difference! I've made this pie for years and it always is a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This reminds me of my childhood. It was a bit runny, but tasted so good we didn't even care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoycieSweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Awesome. Made for my husband's birthday as this was one of his favorite desserts growing up...tasted just as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My Mother has made this since I can remember and now I do for my childred and grandchildren. Always requested...Always made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pigletcutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I have use the lower fat graham cracker crust and light sweetened condensed milk and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe (very basic and simple) I just multiplied it to make a 18x18 square for 100. It came out perfectly!! so simple. However I replaced all the cherry filling for fresh blueberries mixed w/ one whole can of blueberry filling. Make sure you are using CONDENSED milk. This recipe is a keeper Im gonna try it topped w/ home lemon curd yumm :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States