Cherry Cream Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
For Firmer Pie: Try Knox (unflavored) Gelatin. Into 1/3 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice, mix in 1 1/2 to 2 tsp & let it stand for 1 minute (lemon juice will 'swell' or thicken). Incorporate into cream cheese/milk mixture. If you use fresh--crush your pulp or strain it. Do not use too much of the Knox or your pie will be more gelatinous than the creamy texture this delicious pie is known for. Using the Knox means you don't have to sacrifice your lemony flavor by cutting it due to 'soupy' problems and you do not have to add extra cream cheese either which to me, cuts into the other flavors. Try not putting all that 'cherry glop' (sorry, I hate tha stuff) on the whole pie but spoon over individual slices. This will keep pie filling from 'saggin' because of the heavy weight of filling. It also keeps pie from leaking after a few days (if it last that long) making the pie look 'unappealing'. I have never had a problem with soupy-ness or a pie that doesn't set at all. The Original recipe itself just yields a pretty soft texture. However, I experimented years ago with unflavored gelatin because I like my pies to cut 'clean'. This will do just that for you. And because it is unflavored...you don't interupt the original taste of the recipe. Call it an 'invisible band-aid'. I use sweetened thawed strawberries or frozen cherries mixed with sugar. I lost the recipe & knew someone would have it here. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My Mother has made this since I can remember and now I do for my childred and grandchildren. Always requested...Always made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pigletcutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Awesome. Made for my husband's birthday as this was one of his favorite desserts growing up...tasted just as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This reminds me of my childhood. It was a bit runny, but tasted so good we didn't even care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEEJOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this using low fat cream cheese and fat free sweetened condensed milk and I made another one using the full fat stuff. No one could tell the difference! I've made this pie for years and it always is a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I read the other reviews and was worried that maybe it wouldn't set or would be too lemony but I followed the directions and it was PERFECT!!! OMG, sooo yummy! I agree that someone must have used evaporated milk instead of sweetened condensed milk. It was perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
An older easy recipe to a family favorite. Excellent taste and really easy for the busy working woman or man to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Kirkendall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes. I add a couple spoon fulls for heavy frozen whipped topping, and that helped it to set better. This is an awesome dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imajan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My boyfriend's grandmother made one very similar for him when he was young and he's never found anyone who made one remotely close... until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Easy and creamy...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States