Cherry Cream Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Excellent and five stars with some seemingly minor, but significant tweaks. If others have complained this is dry, it's not just that there's too much flour, but too little sugar! Sugar does more for a cake than just add sweetness - it contributes to the moistness of a cake as well. That said, I still mixed the cherries (cut in half with a floured kitchen shears) with the 1/4 cup flour, but I reduced the flour in the batter by a half cup, to 1-3/4 cups. But at the same time, I also INcreased the sugar to a full two cups, up a half cup from the 1-1/2 c. called for. Also, this essentially being a pound cake, I felt that 1-1/2 tsp. of baking powder was unnecessary and maybe even counterproductive. I debated using any at all, but ultimately settled with 1 tsp., down a half tsp. from the 1-1/2 tsp. called for. I wasn't confident baking this in a non-prepared pan, so I did spray it with Baker's Joy (a floured baking spray) before baking. This did need the full 75 minute baking time, and I allowed 20 minutes cooling time before I removed it from the pan. When cooled, I glazed it with a light, simple powdered sugar glaze and garnished with a few more candied cherries. The result was a perfectly dense, moist and pleasantly sweet pound cake, evenly studded with the candied cherries. Simply beautiful, and simply delicious. Oh - and the pecans definitely "take this up a notch" both in flavor and appearance. Do include them if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used marischino cherries and reduced the sugar slightly. This was well-recieved but I thought still a tad too sweet. I also sprayed and floured and bundt pan as I was worried it would stick and it came out beautifully and the pecans were a nice touch. I used the cherry juice and some almond extract to make a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this in addition to pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving. I give this only 3 stars because it was very dry. I have to agree with another reviewer that there is too much flour. I would make this again but reduce the flour by 1/2 C. I also only used about 2 T. of flour that were to be added to the cherries. I would also double the amount of cherries because there was only about 1 or 2 in each piece as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Good flavor, but mine came out kind of dry. Went great dunked in coffee in the morning though. I just wish it would have been a little more moist. I even used maraschino cherries instead of the candied cherries, which I would have thought would have made it more moist, but no such luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The cake itself is very moist, heavy and delicious! I did not have cherries so I made it as written and spooned canned strawberries on the cake after I poured it into the pan. It was very good- For those that are afraid that it will be too dry- I only baked it for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
delicious! I followed this recipe exactly, and ended up making 2 in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is a beautiful cake! It's easy too, with the exception of cutting the cherries - I used the candied cherries and they are very sticky and messy to cut. I made the cake as written with a few exceptions. I cut my cherries up much more finely than just halving them, and in hindsight I’d chop them even finer, or increase the amount, to get more disbursement throughout the cake. When dredging the cherries with the flour just a tablespoon or so of flour is plenty – no need for 1/4 cup. I used a bundt pan and my cake baked up beautifully in about 68 minutes. I haven’t tasted the finished cake yet, but I can tell you the batter was really yummy so I expect the cake to be yummy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I love this easy to make cherry cake. I made a couple of adjustments to mine. I added more cherries (red & green) and also 1/2 cup sour cream or little more. Turned out excellent. Baked in bundt pan for 1 hour and 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is now my son's favorite cake! I used canned cherries because I couldn't find candied cherries, and it still came out great! Will bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTY225

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Thank you for saving my day!! I have been looking for this recipe and finally found it. My mother and I used to make it at Christmas every year. We would make it in a bundt pan and also in individual coffee cans or small tins for gift giving. We also had an icing which consisted of 1/2 c chopped nuts, 1-1/2 c confectioner sugar, and 2 tb milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States