Cherry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I also increased the cherries to two cups and it turned out great. It was a delicious way to use up cherries from our local farmers market. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I'm probably going to write a novel here, so please bear with me. I made quite a few changes to the recipe. You might want to say I "healthed it up". I used white whole wheat flour, which is a somewhat obscure kind of flour but it is wholegrain without feeling like you're eating a brick. I also used granulated brown sugar and decreased it to 2/3 cup, but the cake was still sweet enough. I replaced the oil completely with unsweetened applesauce. I used only 1 very large egg, and used ricemilk for the milk. Ended up also sprinkling 2 tablespoons of chopped walnuts over the top of the batter before baking, which was really the bottom once I turned the cake out because I used a bundt pan. I kept the cherries at 1 1/2 cups. If you want a cake WITH cherries, follow the recipe guidelines. If you want a cake OF cherries, add more. This was SO moist and flavorful. I might add a streusel topping next time I make it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I really loved this recipe! However, I did make a few simple changes. I added about 2 cups of cherries and baked the cake in an 8x8 glass dish which had to be greased and floured. The cake was beautiful~it was moist and had a slight crunch to the outside. I mixed up a little milk and confectioners' sugar to make a quick glaze to pour over the top for additional sweetness! The cake disappeared~we will make this cake again! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Awesome moist, cinnamony, cherry coffee cake. Simple to make. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made this for work and my co-workers loved it. The only thing i did was i added another cup of cherrys to the recipes and it was not over barring whith cherry's .I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Nice brunch coffee cake! I made it just as the recipe indicated. It's cherry season again and this is a great way to use part of the box I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katosmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
A very moist coffe cake bursting with fresh cherries! I used 2 cups like most of the others suggested. Instead of oil I used 1/2 c. Land O lakes light butter that I creamed together with the 1 c. of white sugar until light and fluffy. Then I added each egg one at a time to that mixture followed by the vanilla, and milk and an addition of 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I baked mine in a prepared 8x8 glass baking dish (used Pam for baking) and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes. I topped it with a glaze made from 1 c. of confectioners sugar and 2 Tbsp. of milk. Next time I might top this with sliced almonds - it's a keeper for cherry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this coffee cake. I did make it fat free by using applesauce instead of the oil. I also used egg substitute and it came out almost like a bread pudding consistancy. Not a whole lot of cherry flavor, maybe next time I'll use some cherry extract instead of the vanilla. All in all, I'll make this again since the ingredients are readily in my pantry. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This cake is so moist and delicious! I used more cherries like others have done, whole wheat flour, and canola oil. Also, I put a glaze on top. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have made this twice now in 2 days! Amazing flavor and SOOO moist! This is my new favorite cherry recipe! I didn't use a glaze; I felt it didn't need one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States