Cherry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I actually made muffins out of the batter instead of making the whole cake. They were a hit...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
The only problem I found with this recipe is that the oven needs to be at 350 degrees rather than 325. I had the cake in for nearly an hour and twenty minutes and it still came out too moist, and fell apart in the middle as soon as we took it out of the pan. A very delicious and simple cake. It took me only about ten-fifteen minutes to put it together and I didn't even have to go to the store to buy any of the ingredients like with many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OddLittleCreature

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Lovely recipe. We had left over cherries which weren't great eating on its own, so thought we might try putting them into a cake instead. Made a few changes to make recipe a bit healthier: 1. substituted oil with applesauce 2. reduced sugar to 2/3 cup. 3. Used 1/2 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup yoghurt (didn't have enough milk). Used about 1 3/4 cup cherries, and had 1/4 of an apple so chopped that up and added in too. The result was a lovely, moist cake which wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have a difficult time baking things without adding chocolate to them, and this one was no exception. In doing so, I confirmed that I don't like the combination of cinnamon and chocolate. So, the second time I made the recipe I made the following changes: 1. Removed all cinnamon 2. Added half cup semi-sweet choc chips 3. Reduced vanilla to half teaspoon 4. Added half teaspoon almond extract I also used frozen cherries instead of fresh (cut them in half and added them frozen to the batter). I think this turned out better than the original recipe (though I imagine fresh cherries would be better). Next time I may try with milk chocolate chips/chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
sorry i did not enjoy this. i added more cherries like others. but to me it just didnt have a very good flavor and was kinda bland. kinda mad that i wasted perfectly good cherries on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have made this twice now in 2 days! Amazing flavor and SOOO moist! This is my new favorite cherry recipe! I didn't use a glaze; I felt it didn't need one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This cake is so moist and delicious! I used more cherries like others have done, whole wheat flour, and canola oil. Also, I put a glaze on top. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made this for work and my co-workers loved it. The only thing i did was i added another cup of cherrys to the recipes and it was not over barring whith cherry's .I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this coffee cake. I did make it fat free by using applesauce instead of the oil. I also used egg substitute and it came out almost like a bread pudding consistancy. Not a whole lot of cherry flavor, maybe next time I'll use some cherry extract instead of the vanilla. All in all, I'll make this again since the ingredients are readily in my pantry. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
A very moist coffe cake bursting with fresh cherries! I used 2 cups like most of the others suggested. Instead of oil I used 1/2 c. Land O lakes light butter that I creamed together with the 1 c. of white sugar until light and fluffy. Then I added each egg one at a time to that mixture followed by the vanilla, and milk and an addition of 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I baked mine in a prepared 8x8 glass baking dish (used Pam for baking) and baked it at 350 for 55 minutes. I topped it with a glaze made from 1 c. of confectioners sugar and 2 Tbsp. of milk. Next time I might top this with sliced almonds - it's a keeper for cherry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States