Cherry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very tender, moist cake. I made it in a 9 inch glass cake pan, perfectly done in 1 hr. I used organic coconut oil (it was a gift, never used, saw it in another cherry recipe) and subbed half the white sugar for brown. I did the glaze, but a streusel topping would probably make this 5 stars. Yes, I'll make it again, and probably add streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Hideous cake recipe! Those that rate it 4-5 stars have all changed it to make it edible. Bland! And I have discovered that cinnamon and cherries do not go well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Luv Luv This Recipe!! Excellent!! I made muffins out Of this recipe and made a crumb topping and a marshmallow glaze over them Oh Em Geee! I did use buttermilk instead Of regular the turned out very moist light and fluffy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This cake was very moist and had hints of cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Made this this morning to use up some sweet cherries I had. Made exactly as written, except I reduced the cherries to 1 cup (all I had). I baked mine at 325 and for 55 minutes, and that was probably 3 or 4 minutes too long in my oven. I'll reduce cook time next time. Also added a simple sugar glaze. It tastes excellent. My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made as the recipe says and we LOVED it! Used vanilla glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Everyone loved this! It was simple to make, and most of the ingredients are ones most would have already on hand. I did increase the cherries to 2 cups, which I think was perfect. When the cake cooled, I drizzled with conf sugar/milk mixture and sprinkled sliced almonds on top. It was not too sweet and goes great with coffee. I believe the cake may even be better the next day ~ seemed to be more moist the day after. Thanks for the easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Great recipe! I actually made muffins out of the batter instead of making the whole cake. They were a hit...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFGRL
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
The only problem I found with this recipe is that the oven needs to be at 350 degrees rather than 325. I had the cake in for nearly an hour and twenty minutes and it still came out too moist, and fell apart in the middle as soon as we took it out of the pan. A very delicious and simple cake. It took me only about ten-fifteen minutes to put it together and I didn't even have to go to the store to buy any of the ingredients like with many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OddLittleCreature

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Lovely recipe. We had left over cherries which weren't great eating on its own, so thought we might try putting them into a cake instead. Made a few changes to make recipe a bit healthier: 1. substituted oil with applesauce 2. reduced sugar to 2/3 cup. 3. Used 1/2 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup yoghurt (didn't have enough milk). Used about 1 3/4 cup cherries, and had 1/4 of an apple so chopped that up and added in too. The result was a lovely, moist cake which wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States