Cherry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Tried this recipe since I had some white cherries that needed used. Had two cups of halved cherries. Used butter instead of oil. Added about a 1/4 tsp of almond extract since I like that flavor with cherries. Made muffins instead and two small loaves. Flavor was very nice. Nice crumb. Will make again if I have some fresh cherries to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Copeland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This was yummy! Simple, not fancy. We love cinnamon and had so many cherries (Queen Anne) from our tree I needed to do something with them and found this. I made it with lots of cherries --over 2 cups, and was also generous with the cinnamon. Baked it at 350 and checked it to make sure it didn't get dry near the end. Made a simple, quick brown sugar glaze (water, brown sugar, vanilla) and threw it on top, served with vanilla ice cream. Nice find, easy and fast! Didn't add much cherry juice --may have been too runny that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This coffee cake is so yummy, especially right out of the oven. I was looking for a recipe that used fresh cherries since I had some that were getting pretty ripe and this was the perfect recipe for it. With the exception of slicing and pitting the cherries, the recipe was pretty easy and no fuss. The cinnamon and cherries gives the cake a nice sweet flavor that is not overpowering. Overall, great recipe for those who need a quick way of getting rid of some very ripe fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong the cake was kind of pasty like it wasn't cooked but it I cooked it for an hour and 15 minutes and my fork came out clean. It tasted good if I could just get past the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This cake was fantastic. Very moist! I added a little almond extract instead of the cinnamon. My two teenage girls ate half of it the day I made it! Also upped the cherries to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Very tender, moist cake. I made it in a 9 inch glass cake pan, perfectly done in 1 hr. I used organic coconut oil (it was a gift, never used, saw it in another cherry recipe) and subbed half the white sugar for brown. I did the glaze, but a streusel topping would probably make this 5 stars. Yes, I'll make it again, and probably add streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Hideous cake recipe! Those that rate it 4-5 stars have all changed it to make it edible. Bland! And I have discovered that cinnamon and cherries do not go well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Luv Luv This Recipe!! Excellent!! I made muffins out Of this recipe and made a crumb topping and a marshmallow glaze over them Oh Em Geee! I did use buttermilk instead Of regular the turned out very moist light and fluffy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This cake was very moist and had hints of cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Made this this morning to use up some sweet cherries I had. Made exactly as written, except I reduced the cherries to 1 cup (all I had). I baked mine at 325 and for 55 minutes, and that was probably 3 or 4 minutes too long in my oven. I'll reduce cook time next time. Also added a simple sugar glaze. It tastes excellent. My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States