Cherry Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Excellent flavor! Bake the base for 15-20 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. Bake until golden brown on top. Cool on wire rack. Cut with a sharp knife and sprinkle with confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Deliciously different bar cookie that's easy, quick and fills the house with a decadent aroma. I followed the recipe exactly and had perfect results. Especially attractive on a Christmas/New Year's dessert plate. Thank you so much for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
My FAVORITE childhood recipe! If you like cherries, and you like coconut - guaranteed you'll think you died and went to heaven... Enjoy. I'd give it six stars if that were an option...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Also one of my favorite childhood recipes. The only problem is that they go too quickly. I like to double to recipe and make it in a 13x9 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My 12 year old made this mostly by herself. It was great, we left out the nuts due to allergies and increased the cocnut and cherries slightly. My favorite part was the shortbread, it was very light and flakey. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Great bars, they received lots of good comments. Only thingid that the crust had a hard time staying together when taken out of the pan. Let it cool completely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David J Imm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Everyone enjoyed-nice to have something different to eat! Thanks for recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The first time I made these I thought they were wonderful. I love coconut and cherry mixed together. May try a batch with almonds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I've made a version of this recipe for years. My version uses brown sugar and no cherries. The shortbread crust is wonderful. I used a food processor and cold butter. It produced a smooth small dry crumb that I pressed into the pan and then baked for 20 minutes, as suggested by other reviewers. I also dusted the bars lightly with powdered sugar. I cut them into 16 bars, I think 24 would make bars too small. This is a good recipe and I loved the maraschino cherries and walnuts in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This has been a bar I've made for years. My husband has to have it every Christmas. I too double the recipe. I also bake the crust for a 20 minutes. I found it works well to lower the temperatue of the oven to 325 degrees during the last ten minutes of baking. Then the edges don't get so brown. compared to the outside edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States