Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delicious! The way I read the directions, the flour mixture is to be put in the pan first and then topped with the cherries? That's what I did, and while it looks very little like the photo, it was very tasty. I used fresh cherries, half the recommended amount of butter, whole wheat flour & substituted Splenda for the sugar, and it was a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCHOOLNUTS
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Quick and easy to make. Plus, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I really enjoyed this simple, yet delicious dessert. I used a round baking dish and I stayed with 1/2 c butter. I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 c and added about 1/4 c of brown sugar. I also added cinnamon to the batter. Serve this recipe hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I give this recipe 5 stars because the quick-and-easy factor, combined with the wonderful result, fully deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I only write reviews on dishes I think are 5 star or better and this is one of them. I made this for myself for my birthday "cake". In order to fill the 9x13, I did a recipe and a half, except I left the butter at a half a cup. I know alot of people complained that there was too much butter, but I loved it. I am not on a diet and I love butter so I had no problems with it. Thanks for the recipe, I have been trying to find one like it for quite some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonkawa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was pretty good. I made it as the recipe called and had no problems with the butter. It was more cake-like but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
this recipe was quick and easy and if you cut the butter down to 3T you don't get it pooling at the top. Tasted great with a scoop of ice cream. I've made it twice now for a quick desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very good and simple, but I'm giving it 4 stars because as written it would have been under a puddle of butter. 1/4 c. was plenty, and I added cinnamon to the batter. I have tried it with blueberry pie filling and cherry and they were both very good. Cut the sugar back to 3/4 c. and you will never miss it. I also baked in a round casserole dish instead of the 13x9" pan which would have been *very* thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made quite a few changes to this, following some of the others recommendations, and it still needed more work than what I did. It was a good starting point I guess, but if prepared as specified, I think I would have been VERY unhappy with the results. first, I halved the butter called for, and found it to still be too much. I cut back on the sugar and it was still a little too sweet (and I used fresh cherries so no added sugar there). Putting it in a 9x9 was absolutely necessary; it would have been pancake thin in a 9x13. I added a healthy dash of cinnamon and allspice to the batter and it was very nice; I think if I hadn't done this it would have been pretty bland. So... this recipe can be a success only if you follow everyone else's advice about it. as is, no way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. It is so easy and simple. The recipe is still delicous with the butter reduced, as others have recommended in their reviews. I have made it multiple times. It is also tastes great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was the easiest cobbler I ever made. I did use a round dish to bake it in and it turned out very pretty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States