Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I found some of the other reviews very helpful but I also made some changes. I doubled the recipe for a 9 x 13 pan. I used 2 cans of cherry pie filling & 1 can of (drained) tart cherries to have more cherries & less filling. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup (for each recipe) and left the butter/margarine at 1/4 cup. It was plenty. My husband & guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very simple to follow and prepare. Next time would follow others' advice of adding spice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Wow, good old fashioned comfort dessert at its finest! And who would have ever thought something so down home good could be so easy and quick to throw together? Knowing I'm repeating many tips already suggested, this is what I found worked well: Add 1/4 tsp vanilla and a little cinnamon to the batter, bake in an 8" square pan or equivalent sized baking dish,cut butter down to 6 tablespoons, and sprinkle with sugar during the last 15 minutes of baking. Have fun with your favorite flavors of pie filling - all work well. Mmmmmmmmm, grandmas always were the best bakers, yours included, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
It was very good, but unless you really cut down on the butter, it's going to turn out bad. I used half a stick and that still seemed too much, so I drained most of it so that is only coated the bottom. Other than that, it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn R

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Altamont, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I, too, had this recipe handed down to me from my grandmother and mother, but I lost it when I moved a few years back. I was really thrilled to see it posted here. It is WONDERFUL when you substitute fresh peaches that have had sugar, butter and a lot of cinnamon added to it and heated to boiling. You pour that over the batter and it makes an almost lacy topping when it rises to the top. This is so delicious that a friend's son had me make this for almost 100 people for the dinner the groom's family hosts after they do the wedding rehersal. I can only say it was easy to make and when served in martini glasses with a dollop of whipped topping it was elegant as well as delicious. Everyone should try this recipe with their favorite fruit. The fruits and berries in the grocer's frozen food case makes this a sinfully simple dessert that is sure to be a sensation after any meal. I should say that peaches are the only fruit you add cinnamon to, with everything else I add a little vanilla to the fruit when I heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delicious! The way I read the directions, the flour mixture is to be put in the pan first and then topped with the cherries? That's what I did, and while it looks very little like the photo, it was very tasty. I used fresh cherries, half the recommended amount of butter, whole wheat flour & substituted Splenda for the sugar, and it was a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCHOOLNUTS
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Quick and easy to make. Plus, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I really enjoyed this simple, yet delicious dessert. I used a round baking dish and I stayed with 1/2 c butter. I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 c and added about 1/4 c of brown sugar. I also added cinnamon to the batter. Serve this recipe hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I give this recipe 5 stars because the quick-and-easy factor, combined with the wonderful result, fully deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I only write reviews on dishes I think are 5 star or better and this is one of them. I made this for myself for my birthday "cake". In order to fill the 9x13, I did a recipe and a half, except I left the butter at a half a cup. I know alot of people complained that there was too much butter, but I loved it. I am not on a diet and I love butter so I had no problems with it. Thanks for the recipe, I have been trying to find one like it for quite some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonkawa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was pretty good. I made it as the recipe called and had no problems with the butter. It was more cake-like but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States