Cherry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Taking the advice of other reviewers, I cut the butter in half. Other tweaks: added vanilla, added chopped walnuts, cut the sugar to 1/3 cup (it was plenty sweet) and baked it in a 7in round pyrex dish. I used cherry pie filling and it came out fantastic. Very easy to make and lovely results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
After reading some of the reviews this is my changes. Cut butter in half, add 1/4 tsp. vanilla and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and used 8" glass baking dish. AWESOME!!! The best I've ever tasted. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Great cobbler. Easy, no mess, sweet, tart and buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumann, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Weiner, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is comfort food! Quick, easy and all the ingredients already on hand. Awesome. :) I wouldn't serve it for company though... Probably because I'd like keep it all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Butter is really a matter of taste as is sweetness. Some like a dab of butter on their cobbler when finished (just like ice cream). I cut the sugar by more than 3/4 cup -- I like the tartness of the cherries to come through -- and topped it with a few Tbsp of brown sugar instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Scaled back the butter, added some cinnamon and vanilla like suggested, and this still wasn't quite what I wanted. The bread was very dense and spongy instead of fluffy like I'd expected. Overall it wasn't terrible but wasn't anything to write home about either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I definitely scaled back the butter, as others said. It was pretty good, the bread was very thick, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I rate this a 5 with some changes. I took other people's advice and reduced the sugar to 3/4 C, the butter to 1/4 C, and added a 1/4 t vanilla. I did, however, bake in a 13x9 glass dish, but only baked for about 35 minutes. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My family went crazy over this recipe. They're not usually too fond of cherry cobbler, but i had them begging for seconds. The recipe wouldn't have been as good had the following changes not been made: WAY too much butter! all you really need is about 2 or 3 tablespoons. Also, I added an extra half-a-can of cherry pie filling. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelseyTheGreat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It was OK...I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States