Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fast and easy. I followed advice and halved the sugar and water: 6 Tbsp sugar in the batter and 1/2 cup in the syrup with 1/2 cup water, still using 1Tbsp cornstarch. The consistency was perfect. I used a 16-oz bag of frozen sweet cherries, thawed, and will make this again using peaches, or similar. I may add a little almond extract to cherries next time. A whipped cream topping or vanilla ice cream would go well on smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Our friends gave us a ton of cherries from their tree and I found this recipe as I was trying to figure out what to do with all those cherries. This was so awesome. I loved the topping and it was perfect with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the great recipe! Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
sugar juice on top make the cobbler turn in to mush. not the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenkelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Bake this a little bit longer than the recipe says for a darker,crispier crust and not as soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Love this recipe! I'd never attempted to make a cobbler before and this one came out perfectly. My boyfriend and I love cobbler, and this is the best we've ever had :o) Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I am admittedly not very good in the kitchen, but this recipe was so easy. And even my husband who is not big into desserts, really liked it. It's sweet without being overbearing. I made it with fresh cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a very good fresh fruit cobbler recipe. I've used cherries twice, and once with blueberries and peaches. The cornstarch is perfect for "gelling" up the juices from the fruit. I will say that it needs to bake closer to an hour. I cook it for about 50 minutes uncovered. Then I cover it with aluminum foil for the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. It was a bit sweet for our tastes- next time I'll cut the sugar down- especially if we have such wonderful Oregon cherries again! Will also make this with blueberries here in a few weeks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is fantastic. We bought 10 pounds of cherries at the farmer's market so I had to start doing something with them. I don't like cobbler type stuff but had seconds on this! I had no problem with the crust at all. It had a beautiful shiny crunchy topping and had a gorgeous color and texture on the inside. I cut water to 3/4 cup and really got it boiling and stirred until it was all dissolved then put the bowl in the microwave for one more minute (just to make sure the cornstarch got going on the thickening) then poured it over the batter. I baked it for 1 hour. Superb with vanilla ice cream! (For those of you who thought it was sickeningly sweet, did you accidentally use canned filling?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyShelluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is wonderful! I'm new to making cobblers but this summer have made almost one a week for parties and this was the first cherry one I have made. Being such a pain to pit the cherries I was worried at the outcome of this dessert. After reading almost all the reviews I still focused on the few negative ones which I shouldn't have. The only deviation from the recipe I made was to use 1/2 cup sugar in the batter and 3/4 cup sugar in the water to pour over the top. It was perfectly sweetened for us. Oh, also, it must cook a full hour instead of the 45 minutes. The only problem I had was getting the cornstarch/sugar mixed with the water. I had 2 small clumps of cornstarch in my topping after it was finished cooking but I am sure it's because I didn't stir it well enough. I also used the full cup of water and it turned out perfect. So, all that said, 1) please try this recipe, the topping is crunchy and wonderful, 2) if you have made cobbler before then you know about how much sugar your family can handle and can adjust accordingly, 3) even though I had my doubts that the topping would not be gooey (even at the very end of cooking) it wasn't and was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States