Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Good recipe, but there needs to be a reduction in the amount of sugar in the liquid that is poured over the top of the cobbler before baking it. The cherries were too sweet for my liking, it did taste good, but not what I consider as cherry cobbler. It was missing the tartness from the cherries. Other than that, a good recipe. Just needs less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The best cobbler I've ever tasted! I brought some to my school for my birthday, and i instantly get offered to join culinary class for next year. Its hard to get in, considering everyone wants to. XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was good - I had to bake quite a bit longer, but that may be because the cherries were frozen. They were last years cherries and lost some of their flavor, but overall it was really great over ice cream. Next time I will add fresh peaches and/or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The first time I made this recipe I followed it exactly and it was way too sweet and kinda runny. Now instead of the 1 cup of sugar I only put 3/4 cup and instead of the 3/4 cup I only put 1/2. Also, so it won't be as runny, I put a heaping table sppon of cornstarch instead of a level one. I have since made this recipe with cherries, apricots and plums and they have turned out perfect. I only use enough fruit to cover the bottom of the pan, not 4 cups and I use a deep pan so it will hold all the liquid well. Also they say it's a dough, but it really has more ot the consistency of a cake batter. I hope this helps. I am trying peach with it tonight. I hope it's as good as the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Make sure the water is boiling when you pour it in. I used tart pie cherries so it wasn't too sweet at all. I used the recipe exactly how it is after reading the reviews. The only complaint was that it was too sweet but that is because people are using sweet cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Reading through some of the reviews for this recipe, it quickly became apparent that results were widely varied – too sweet, not sweet enough, too thick, too watery. It seems, as it is with pies, that in addition to individual tastes and preferences, how sweet or juicy the fruit is also makes a difference. I decided to play it safe and reduce the sugar and water in the cornstarch mixture just a teensy bit – to 3/4 cup water and slightly more than 1/2 cup sugar - not huge changes, but it made me feel better. :) As it turns out, this is pretty much a perfect recipe. Perfect baking time – 45 minutes was right on. Perfect amounts of everything - in fact, my reducing the amounts of sugar and water, even a little bit, was probably unnecessary. Perfectly delicious and it looks perfect too. My first fresh cherry cobbler. And it was perfect. (As a side note, my fingers show the fruits of my labor. They’re stained deep purple. So to the uninitiated in cherry pitting as I was, it might be wise, particularly if you’re attending an event the next evening as I am, to wear some gloves)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
we loved this; easy to do and very delicious; not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
It was good, but a little too sweet. Per other people's reviews, I used 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 cup water for the liquid part. Next time, I will use less sugar for the batter part too. I used fresh cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very tasty and loved by my family. As suggested by others, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup for the syrup mixture. However, that was the only change I made. I used frozen cherries picked from my neighbour's tree and found that cooking time was longer - it took about an hour to bake and for the cobbler to brown. Very good and will make this again with this year's cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States