Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very tasty and loved by my family. As suggested by others, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup for the syrup mixture. However, that was the only change I made. I used frozen cherries picked from my neighbour's tree and found that cooking time was longer - it took about an hour to bake and for the cobbler to brown. Very good and will make this again with this year's cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This tasted so wonderful and I don't even like cherry cobbler. I made if for my dad for Father's day because it's his favorite. I took the advice on the liquid topping and used only 1/2 c sugar and 3/4 c water. I kept the tablespoon of cornstarch the same and when I was pouring it on top of my crust I only used 3/4 of it because it seemed like too much. I wish I had remembered to get a picture of it because it looked amazing. It tasted great too. I might use the full 1 c of water next time though because it was pretty formed (no where near runny). And in case anyone was wondering, I used frozen black cherries (Publix brand) for my filling as I couldn't find any fresh in my area. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Let me first state that I despise cobbler. Gooey baked fruits are not for me. I initially used this recipe because I had extra fresh cherries to use up. What I didn't expect to ABSOLUTELY LOVE the taste! I used 4 ramekins and put a layer of batter, then cherries, batter, and the sugar syrup on top. Also, I ran out of white sugar after making the batter, so I used light brown sugar for the sugar/water syrup. DELICIOUS! The sticky top crust was sooo good! Served with Marinated Tuna Steak with white rice, Grilled Garlic Artichokes, and Idaho Fry Sauce for the artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It's not "bad" but WAY too sweet, never making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this for our Super Bowl party and everyone raved about it. I used two cans of cherry pie filling and added 1 tsp almond extract. I also used self-rising flour and it made the most amazing crust. I will be making this again and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Followed recipe exactly, but realized last minute I didn't have cornstarch. I used two tbsp of all purpose flour in place of the 1 tbsp of cornstarch and it still turned out perfect. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steadybdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fast and easy. I followed advice and halved the sugar and water: 6 Tbsp sugar in the batter and 1/2 cup in the syrup with 1/2 cup water, still using 1Tbsp cornstarch. The consistency was perfect. I used a 16-oz bag of frozen sweet cherries, thawed, and will make this again using peaches, or similar. I may add a little almond extract to cherries next time. A whipped cream topping or vanilla ice cream would go well on smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Our friends gave us a ton of cherries from their tree and I found this recipe as I was trying to figure out what to do with all those cherries. This was so awesome. I loved the topping and it was perfect with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the great recipe! Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
sugar juice on top make the cobbler turn in to mush. not the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenkelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States