Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is very very good! I also reduced the sugar in both the batter and the syrup by 1/4 cup each, and added a tsp of almond extract to the batter. I'll definnitely use this recipe again with other fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as written and the sweetness was perfect. Will try with blueberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Definitely some of the best cherry cobbler that I've ever had! I had bunches of cherries left after making jam this morning, so I decided to look for a baked cherry something recipe and found this one. I only used 3/4 cup sugar in the syrup, and bumped the cornstarch up to 1 1/2 tbsp and it came out perfectly. I also dissolved the cornstarch in a small amount of cool water first since it's much easier than in hot water. Probably should let it cool a little more before serving next time since the cherries were really, really hot inside. I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I only gave this a 2 star for now. Normally I read reviews prior to using a recipe, but this time i was in a hurry and skipped that part. That was my mistake. Much like others, mine turned out WAY too mushy. It smelled great while baking though, but to have left it in any longer it would have burned. I will try this recipe again, following some of the other reviews and reducing sugar and liquids. I hope it tastes as good as it smelled baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I followed the suggestions from the reviews and mine turned out perfect! I cut back on the sugar and I added about 1 teaspoon more of cornstarch and cooked it for 5 minutes longer. It is yummy!! I used a cherry pitter from Pampered Chef which works quite nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a fantastic cobbler recipe. I followed it exactly as written - except where it calls for 1 cup of sugar to be blended with the water I only used 1/2 cup. The biscuit topping had a nice slightly crispy texture and there was the perfect amount of liquid on the bottom with the cherries. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Really good! I used fresh bing cherries and like many people, I used 1/2 cup sugar in the batter and then 1/2 cup sugar and 2/3 cup water in the syrup and it turned out perfect, not too sweet with a slightly crispy top and a very pretty sauce. I also used more cherries and put it all in a 3qt Pyrex baking dish. I served it with a little vanilla ice cream and it was the perfect summer dessert! I'm trying to keep myself busy so I'll stay out of the kitchen and resist the temptation to eat another big helping. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
So good! I had a bag of cherries that were getting old so I decided to bake with them. This was the perfect recipe for it! I did tweet it by adding a little less sugar since my cherries were already sweet. The only other change I made was adding a tsp of vanilla extract when mixing the cornstarch, sugar and water because I love vanilla extract. Quick and delicious - the best combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beachwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't make any adjustments - kids & in-laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have never commented on a recipe until now! I had an over abundance of cherries and was looking for a cobbler recipe to try. Lucky for me I came across this one! It was very simple to put together. The most time consuming part was pitting the cherries! The reviews that stated that it came out runny HAD to have done something WRONG! Mine came out firm, yet gooey and golden brown on top! I just took it out of the oven and had to try a bite! Gonna serve it later with vanilla ice cream on the side! I can hardly wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States