Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
A little too sweet for me, next time might try rhubarb or lemon juice, cinnamon or nutmeg maybe. But, both ds and dh said it was the best thing ever. And if I continued to make it they,d both gain pounds. So, five star worthy because very very little I make received such high regards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I used a quart jar of cherries I canned in medium syrup. I drained the syrup, but I will save it next time in place of the sugar water mixture. I used 1/2 c. of sugar in the topping and 1/2 c. of sugar in the water mixture as others recommended. I also used about 1.5 T of cornstarch. With these adjustments, the recipe came out great. It was quick and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Great cobbler. Lactose intolerant, so used soy milk and lactose free butter substitute. Also, added an 1/8 teaspoon almond extract to cherries, and topped with chopped almonds. Ate it with lactose free vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liser
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is really good. I also lessened the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Good recipe, but there needs to be a reduction in the amount of sugar in the liquid that is poured over the top of the cobbler before baking it. The cherries were too sweet for my liking, it did taste good, but not what I consider as cherry cobbler. It was missing the tartness from the cherries. Other than that, a good recipe. Just needs less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The best cobbler I've ever tasted! I brought some to my school for my birthday, and i instantly get offered to join culinary class for next year. Its hard to get in, considering everyone wants to. XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was good - I had to bake quite a bit longer, but that may be because the cherries were frozen. They were last years cherries and lost some of their flavor, but overall it was really great over ice cream. Next time I will add fresh peaches and/or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The first time I made this recipe I followed it exactly and it was way too sweet and kinda runny. Now instead of the 1 cup of sugar I only put 3/4 cup and instead of the 3/4 cup I only put 1/2. Also, so it won't be as runny, I put a heaping table sppon of cornstarch instead of a level one. I have since made this recipe with cherries, apricots and plums and they have turned out perfect. I only use enough fruit to cover the bottom of the pan, not 4 cups and I use a deep pan so it will hold all the liquid well. Also they say it's a dough, but it really has more ot the consistency of a cake batter. I hope this helps. I am trying peach with it tonight. I hope it's as good as the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Make sure the water is boiling when you pour it in. I used tart pie cherries so it wasn't too sweet at all. I used the recipe exactly how it is after reading the reviews. The only complaint was that it was too sweet but that is because people are using sweet cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States