Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I made this recipe as printed, except I substituted two cans of tart red cherries in water (drained) because fresh cherries were not available. The recipe was perfect. The crust was crisp on top and moist in the center. The cherry layer was perfect - not too sweet or too tart with the right proportion and consistency of sauce. It's difficult to find fresh tart, red cherries and sweet cherries would make this recipe very sweet. But if you can locate tart cherries, it's an easy and perfect recipe. (and in a pinch or when you don't have time to pit cherries, the canned cherries worked very well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This turned out great. Reading some other reviews I'm wondering if one must think ahead about the amount of liquid comes out of your cherries and adjust the recipe accordingly. While pitting my cherries, they produced about two cups of liquid. I drained off a cup and used that instead of the cup of boiling water. It still seemed like a lot of juice remained with the cherries, so I used a heaping T. of cornstarch. I was very pleased how the cobbler turned out. Good luck! It's deffinately worth all the pitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is very very good! I also reduced the sugar in both the batter and the syrup by 1/4 cup each, and added a tsp of almond extract to the batter. I'll definnitely use this recipe again with other fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as written and the sweetness was perfect. Will try with blueberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Definitely some of the best cherry cobbler that I've ever had! I had bunches of cherries left after making jam this morning, so I decided to look for a baked cherry something recipe and found this one. I only used 3/4 cup sugar in the syrup, and bumped the cornstarch up to 1 1/2 tbsp and it came out perfectly. I also dissolved the cornstarch in a small amount of cool water first since it's much easier than in hot water. Probably should let it cool a little more before serving next time since the cherries were really, really hot inside. I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I only gave this a 2 star for now. Normally I read reviews prior to using a recipe, but this time i was in a hurry and skipped that part. That was my mistake. Much like others, mine turned out WAY too mushy. It smelled great while baking though, but to have left it in any longer it would have burned. I will try this recipe again, following some of the other reviews and reducing sugar and liquids. I hope it tastes as good as it smelled baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I followed the suggestions from the reviews and mine turned out perfect! I cut back on the sugar and I added about 1 teaspoon more of cornstarch and cooked it for 5 minutes longer. It is yummy!! I used a cherry pitter from Pampered Chef which works quite nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a fantastic cobbler recipe. I followed it exactly as written - except where it calls for 1 cup of sugar to be blended with the water I only used 1/2 cup. The biscuit topping had a nice slightly crispy texture and there was the perfect amount of liquid on the bottom with the cherries. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Really good! I used fresh bing cherries and like many people, I used 1/2 cup sugar in the batter and then 1/2 cup sugar and 2/3 cup water in the syrup and it turned out perfect, not too sweet with a slightly crispy top and a very pretty sauce. I also used more cherries and put it all in a 3qt Pyrex baking dish. I served it with a little vanilla ice cream and it was the perfect summer dessert! I'm trying to keep myself busy so I'll stay out of the kitchen and resist the temptation to eat another big helping. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
So good! I had a bag of cherries that were getting old so I decided to bake with them. This was the perfect recipe for it! I did tweet it by adding a little less sugar since my cherries were already sweet. The only other change I made was adding a tsp of vanilla extract when mixing the cornstarch, sugar and water because I love vanilla extract. Quick and delicious - the best combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beachwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States