Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It came out runny and disgustingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very good...tons of alterations reviewed so I had a hard time deciding what to do with the recipe. I usually decide to do exactly what the original recipe calls for the first time, but in this case (as I prefer to eat my cobblers with ice cream) I didn't want it to be terribly sweet. I cut the amount of sugar I mixed with the water to 3/4 cup. I used the same amount of water (1 cup), but I probably had closer to 4 cups of fresh cherries. I thought the sweetness and consistency turned out really nice. The dough topping is the best part though! Will definitely make again, as my daughter and husband both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We loved this recipe (our first cobbler). We used Rainer cherries, and cut the sugar to half in the pour over mixture (since they were not sour cherries) and the water to 3/4 of the recommended. Other than that, did not change a thing and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe saved me in a pinch with guests on short notice and lots of freshly picked cherries in my fridge. The flavor was very good, but it was quite "goopy". I agree with others who recommend toning down the amount of sugar in the sauce...1/2 cup was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Fantastic! I used a little less sugar in the slurry but just by ½ a cup. You could do more if you wanted but I think it lends itself to the overall product, making the crust crispy and sweeting up the cherries. This is particularly nice if you don't have sweet cherries as it is. The only time consuming part was the cherry pitting but I enjoyed myself and it looked like a crime scene in my kitchen, of course I was also working with beets simultaneously. This recipe is SUPER easy and I was able to put it together with out my husband even noticing. I was a true suzy homemaker last night - Prepared a fantastic dinner and followed it up with a warm dessert straight out of the oven. Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This recipe came out really good, even though I cheated/improvised and used a combination of cherry pie filling and blueberry pie filling. Very nice batter, not too gooey, not too cakey. Everyone was buzzing about it...probably buzzing because of all the sugar, considering I didn't cut the amounts even though i was using pie filling, but still...they loved it. Would place a photo here, but it didn't last long enough around the vultures that I was feeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was worried after reading all the mixed reviews. To alter the recipe or not? I decided not to, except maybe filling my measuring cups a tiny bit less with sugar. Yes, this was very sweet. Almost too sweet, but not sickeningly so. I served with homemade vanilla ice cream, and it was perfect. We did use fresh cherries. I recruited my 12 year old to pit the cherries and we found a great way..... with a drinking straw, only it was too flimsy, so I took apart a pen and used the barrel. It worked like a charm. I won't try to explain the procedure here. Google cherry pitting with straw. I didn't have a problem with my cobbler being runny after it cooled a bit. I would make this again and maybe if using sweet cherries, would cut back overall sugar by 1/4 - 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I kept the sugar the same in the breading but cut the filling sugar in 1/2, added a little almond extract (no more than a 1/4 t. to further to curb the tartness of the cherries. Lastly, I substituted the 1c. water for 1c. cherry juice from my fresh cherries; however, I would cut it down to 3/4c. the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Thanks everyone for your input. I liked the amount of sugar in the topping, but reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup in the liquid and added another 1/4 cup of boiling water since my family likes more juice. I also baked it an additional 5 minutes. They devoured it in one sitting. They let me know this morning they'd like to try it next with peaches & blackberries. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was good! Other reviews suggested cutting the sugar, I wasn't sure if they meant the sugar in the dough or that you pour over so I cut both by half. So glad I did, it was still very sweet. I followed the recipe exactly besides, and baked in a deep dish pie plate. It wasn't too runny for me, but I did bake it for an extra ten minutes or so. I also used frozen cherries, a blend of sweet and tart. Thanks very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States