Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Great Cobbler, always a hit. I only added one thing, because I make this every july 4th (just a tad late on a review eh?). I slice the cherries in half, and add roughly 1 1/2 cup fresh blueberries. Red, White, and Blue!! Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hellie
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is a juicy Cobbler that I prepared in a 9" x 13" pan, a bit larger than the 9 square recommended. Some of the extra water evaporated away, I guess, but I wouldn't reduce the liquids in it. I made the recipie with cherries fresh from the tree in our backyard. It is pretty and syrupy and tasty with a mellow buttery crust that is unbeatable with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I love fresh cherries but I have a hard time finding recipes for fresh cherries. I tried this one and my family & I loved it. It is very simple to prepare and tastes great. It reminds me of my deceased grandmother's blueberry & dumplings recipe. I do not have her recipe but I plan to try & substitute blueberries for cherries to see if the taste is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I know different strokes for different folks - but honestly, I can't believe there are folks that don't like this recipe! It's a hit wherever I take it and a personal fave, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
As I was baking with sweet cherries, I used 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 cup water. If I make again, will use slightly deeper 9 inch pan. Overall, good amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMGIRL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I found this recipe to be entirely too runny and I barely used half of the water/sugar/cornstarch mixture that went over the top. I used fresh picked cherries and maybe they are too juicy to allow the mixture to thicken. I have found that unless you pre-cook the mixture, you have no control over the consistency of the cherry mixture. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I made this dessert for my husband for his special Father's Day meal and he loved it. After reading all the reviews, I decided to use only 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 cup water and increased to 1 1/2 Tablespoons cornstarch. It came out very firm, almost like lemon meringue pie. So next time, the only thing I will change is the sugar. I will use 1/2 cup sugar like I did this time, but do everything else the way it called for in the recipe. We would have preferred at least a bit of juiciness. Also, I cooked it for about 5 minutes longer because I wanted the top to be entirely golden brown and it was not quite like that at 45 minutes. This would be great with any summer fruit or berries - I am going to try it with peaches when the season comes round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This was very good. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I did tweak the recipe slightly. I cut the water down from 1c to 3/4c, used frozen organic raspberries instead of cherries (because my husband does not like cherry cobbler), and I used whole wheat pastry flour to give it some nutritional value. – When I make it again, I will also cut down on the sugar. It is quite sweet. Overall, it was a great recipe: easy to make, firmed up great, not watery, everyone in the family liked it. I plan on making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This recipe is a hit at the office. I double everything but the boiling water and cook for 1 hour in a 9 x 13 pan. People BEGGED me for this recipe. When bing cherries go on sale -- look out! The consistency was perfect! Nice & firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States