Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I did tweak the recipe slightly. I cut the water down from 1c to 3/4c, used frozen organic raspberries instead of cherries (because my husband does not like cherry cobbler), and I used whole wheat pastry flour to give it some nutritional value. – When I make it again, I will also cut down on the sugar. It is quite sweet. Overall, it was a great recipe: easy to make, firmed up great, not watery, everyone in the family liked it. I plan on making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This recipe is a hit at the office. I double everything but the boiling water and cook for 1 hour in a 9 x 13 pan. People BEGGED me for this recipe. When bing cherries go on sale -- look out! The consistency was perfect! Nice & firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Thr finished cobbler turned out soupy for me. I even used less water than called for. Also, because i used sweeter cherries the cobbler seemed much too sweet. it tastes alright, but because it's so soupy i wouldn't want to serve it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Oh boy, we didn't like this recipe at all. The biscuit topping was good, but 1 c of sugar was WAY too much and the syrup didn't thicken up at all - it was like cherry flavored sugar water. I think 1 T of cornstarch to 1 c of water is much too low. Next time (?)I would halve the sugar (at least) and add more cornstarch for thickening. Definitely will use the biscuit topping again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
This was my first attempt at cobblers...and it was a success! It tasted just like the cobblers my grandma and aunt used to make! Easy, quick, I had all the ingredients at hand, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This was a huge hit at my 4th of July party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This is the yummiest ooey gooey cobbler i have ever made. Usually i do berries or fruit topped with cake batter...but this pudding cake kinda way with pouring over the water mixture just sets everything together...VERY good. I used fresh sweet cherries...and cut back the sugar to half of what was called for and it was sweet enough with the dark cherries. A hit for sure...and i will be experimenting with different berries and fruit fillings. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I had an abundance of fresh cherries so I made this recipe. I followed it exactly. It turned out perfect. Crust was golden and 'crackly' on top, tender but not soggy. I'll try with blackberries & peaches also, this summer. Used a square glass baking dish - it looked great, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This recipe is ok. I used frozen cherries. Instead of just putting them in the pan like they were i added a little sugar, flour and cornstarch, then let it simmer for a while. I think the recipe would have been better if i would have put twice as many cherries in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
As I am not a pie maker, I fix cobblers. I have a cherry tree, freezing them when ready. I put the frozen cherries, in the bottom as recipe calls for. I take a cobbler monthly to Church Family Day. Of course I double the recipe. The crust comes to the top, and is very good. Its the hit of the day. I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States