Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was yummy. My husband really enjoyed it. It was very easy to make, and I will definitely make it again. I cooked it exactly according to the recipe, and my only criticisms are that the juice was pretty runny and very sweet (just a tad less sweet would have been perfect), and that the crust seemed to taste a little more "flour-y" than I like. I'd probably try to reduce the sugar and water poured over at the end, as many have suggested. But I'd rather have more juice than not enough, so not a big deal. I also don't think my cornstarch was mixed in with the sugar well enough (I could see a couple of white lumps on top after it was baked), so that could have contributed to the runniness. I don't know what to do about the distinct flour flavor of the crust. The very top part that was well baked was delicious! Maybe I just needed to cook it longer? The crust did seem to cook through a little more after sitting a while out of the oven, and that helped the flour flavor a little. Overall, I did really enjoy this cobbler and the recipe was simple. I'd definitely serve this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I doubled this recipe for a 9" x 13" pan, but I did not double the sugar because of what other reviews said. It was excellent. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very easy and good. Next time will cut back on sugar if using sweet cherries again. But still an awsome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dimondale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was my first cobbler. I don't cook a lot of desserts. I happen to have just picked fresh cherries and needed a recipe. This one was wonderful. I had tart cherries, so the cobbler wasn't too sweet. The water mixture I boiled together to thicken a little before I poured it over the top. Changed nothing else, and everyone said it was the best they had tasted. Thanks for my cobbler success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: New Johnsonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYJEN
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Perfect! The only change I made was to add 1 tsp of vanilla (almond extract would be good as well)and 2 drops of red food coloring. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was pretty tasty. I was looking for a good cobbler recipe and I used raspberries (I had a craving...). It probably turned out a bit juicier than if I would have used cherries, especially since I used frozen raspberries, but it was still tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was great - I was freaked out about putting the water on top but it was wonderful when it came out! I used frozen (fresh picked by us last season) and I did cut the sugar down to suit our taste...it was great. I make a big pan of everything I bake, my hubby loved it and this was something that even my fussy Pastor enjoyed! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
A bit on the soupy side WHEN VERY HOT! BUT super yummy. the cobbler toppin is super easy! Way beter the second day after it cools all the way. I have not tried anyother recipes because I am totally sold on this one! I needed a recipe for FRESH cherries because I cannot eat them fresh, I need them baked. I wanted it to be easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
We really liked this recipe! It was easy and fun to make with my 5 year old daughter. The end result was a very successful and delicious cherry cobbler for a first timer. The sauce was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Golden Rings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States