Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Great recipe, I however did as others and modified the liquids and sugar. Still too much juice but very good flavor, very easy to make as my husband is the one who baked the cobbler. We will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Troxel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Really great recipe. Easy to make. The only two things I changed is I mixed 3/4 cup water with 3/4 cup sugar and 1 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch. Still was a little sweet. 1/2 cup sugar would probably be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that I made changes similar to those suggested by previous reviewers. Cut the water for the syrup to 2/3 cup, sugar to 1/2 cup, added a smidge more corn starch, then I added 1 tsp of vanilla to the syrup. It turned out perfect! I baked it in a deep dish pie pan and baked for 55 mins. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
not crazy about this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delish! This was my first time making a cherry cobbler and this recipe turned out great. After reading the other reviews, I also cut the sugar by about half and added 1 tsp. almond extract to the dough. I used 1 cup dark sweet cherries along with some fresh strawberries, and sliced up some canned peaches. Enjoy! It is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I used some chopped peaches to make 3 1/2 cups of fruit as I didn't have enough cherries. I reduced the sugar in the dough to 1/3 cup. The sugar in the liquid more than makes up for the difference. Everything came out wonderful. This isn't a cobbler so much as it is what we used to always call a "Pudding Cake." Wonderful warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This cobbler recipe turned out very, very pretty. I used cherries that had been frozen and cut the sugar by half. It tasted very good, the crust was just the perfect texture. I should have used a larger pan because mine bubbled over quite a bit and made a huge mess in the oven before I caught it but otherwise this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I think that this is just a personal taste thing. Maybe I am just more of a "crisp" person....i missed the oats and nuts....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Oh my - I'm eating this right now, warm from the oven. Following other reviewers, I halved the sugar in the pastry and halved the boiling water/sugar/cornstarch mixture. I added a half tsp of almond flavoring to the douch and baked 55 minutes. The consistency of the cherries with sauce is perfect! Not at all runny but nice, juicy and thick. The cake part is to die for - delicious flavor and lovely texture. Oh... this is good. I'm going back for more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
YUM! I did it exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great - I think I had a few extra cherries than called for (I didn't measure them) so I cooked it for about 10 minutes longer and it was perfect. It wasn't too sweet but I did use fresh sour cherries from our cherry tree so maybe that made the difference. I will definately make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States