Cherry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I used 1/2 cup sugar for the topping and 1/2 cup sugar for the syrup since I didn't want it to be too sweet. I had to cook it for an extra 30 minutes in order to even get the top to brown up. I didn't use boiling water for the sugar and cornstarch. It's hard to mix things in hot water without it clumping! Husband complimented it. I am planning on trying another recipe before I decide if this will be my cobbler stand by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
My husband declared this the best cobbler, it is not so sugary sweet. I made it per the recipe except I used twice the amount of cherries and baked in an 8x12 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M.Elliott
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I made this with fresh sweet cherries and it was loved by the family. I had peaches and used this same recipe....the family said that is a keeper and must be made at least once a month. Very easy and very yummy....I made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made it with fresh cherries and It was very tasty and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Tkachyk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I was disappointed in this recipe. It was very sweet, even with cutting the sugar down a little. I thought the ratio of "dough" to cherries wasn't good. I think I may try it again, this time doubling the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loudwaters
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Made mine GF and used coconut oil. Tried 3/4 cup sugar, 3/4 cup liquid including cherry juices, 2 TBSP cornstarch and that was wickedly sweet. I added the syrup directly to the cherries in the pan, then spooned the batter over the cherries. The baked topping texture was more like a cake than a cobbler. The cherries were perfectly moist with a bit of sauce, not thin and watery. Next time I'll try far less sugar in both the syrup and the cake. My husband added milk to his dish to take the bite out of the cloying sweetness. Otherwise, good flavor notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loudwaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Watery, bland, and too sweet. Disappointed that I used the last of my cherries in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by SusanHissam
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made the cherry cobbler for my mother. She and my husband loved it. I hate cherries so I didn't try it. Today I'm making a mixed raspberry and blackberry cobbler. I added just a touch of cinnamon. Can't wait - there's a gallon of vanilla ice cream in the freezer. Thanks for this recipe. So very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I made this with fresh Ranier cherries. It was quite good. I even got a "You are a wonderful wife". Thanks Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Clare
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Way too much water and we only added half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States