Cherry Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
It puffed beautifully in the oven, but then sank completely when I took it out. The result was basically a soggy, sweet cherry omelette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I'm giving this 3 stars because I have to give it SOMETHING, and it's a super easy and tasty recipe...I think. See, I can't even rate this recipe properly- I just want to pass along my foibles so no one else makes my mistake! Daughter has been begging for cherry clafoutis for a week, and Mom has to be dairy free. I decided to try to adapt this recipe. Bad choice. Great mistake: used vanilla and a splash of almond extract, instead of kirsch. AWESOME flavor. Bad mistake: I subbed almond milk for the 2 cups of dairy and coconut oil for the butter. The results were horrible. It's like watery scrambled eggs. (Further research has revealed I probably should have added more liquid fat, and probably some cornstarch as well....or just been smart and found a dairy-free recipe.) (Also, I read and read and read the recipe, and couldn't figure out what I was supposed to DO with the solid fat, so I just whisked it into the milk mixture. Perhaps I was supposed to grease the pan with it?) I'll try this one again, when I'm able to eat dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This recipe was great but I used Aunt Jemimah pancake mix and fresh sweet cherries which made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I can't believe I ate the whole Thing. Used Cherries from a Jar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I took the other reviewers recommadations to heart as I made this dish for a work party my parents are having tonight, even though I will not be able to sample this due to my allergies it smells just delightful! I only used 1 pound of cherries(and the trick to pitting them is stem them then take a bobby pin in the stem whole and then pop that cherry), I also only used 4 tablespoons of heavy cream and it took exatly 45 minutes, to the dot in the oven. A real looker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I loved this recipe. Used fresh figs, They were a wonderful compliment.And I even got many myself!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Photo by Katy Atlas
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This was really easy to make, but I wasn't totally crazy about it -- not as flavorful as I'd hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Atlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This recipe was just okay for me. There is a lot of prep time if you need to pit the cherries yourself. I found that I had to cook it almost 20 minutes longer than the recommended time. Overall I didn't feel there was the flavour return for the amount of time that was put into making it and waiting for it to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Excellent recipe. A few quick words: I used 1 cup egg substitute, a LITTLE less than 1 cup but more than 3/4 cup of soymilk. I've never used kirsch in my clafouti, so I just left it out. The dessert was still delicious and sweet and tastes just like a clafouti should. Also, I baked for only 35 minutes - it starts to brown quickly. Great overall! Delicious taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This recipe is delicious! The crust is light and airy and the cherries are wonderfully juicy. Also try plums. Anyone fan of sweets will love this recipe! It's not at all tart and not too rich. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States