Cherry Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy, pretty, and delicious. I recommend, as always, baking on parchment paper for easy cleanup and no sticking. I made the recipe exactly as written. Quadrupled it, in fact, for a cookie exchange. Once you've mixed the butter, sugar, and extract well, it's easiest to mix in the dry ingredients by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent! Normally I put cookie dough in the refrigerator in between batches but I do not recommend doing that with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These were a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These are very good cookies! I only made a half a batch of them. I used Theo's Chipotle Spice Sipping Chocolate for the chocolate part and otherwise followed the recipe. I use my meat tenderizer side of the mallet for flattening my cookies to get the mottled look. These are easy and an interesting change for my cookie repertoire. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I thought these were a pretty cookie. I also liked the idea of the flavor of chocolate and cherry. However, they were a little more crispy, than I liked, and I believe it was because of the sugar pressed on top. It was definitely unneeded. Also, I got asked by two different people if these cookies were chocolate raisin. I am not sure how to make them appear to be cherry to the eye. Maybe, some food coloring or cherry extract. I would have to mess with that. I made 1/2 recipe, to try it, and got 16 cookies using a cookie scoop. Not a repeat recipe, but interesting to try anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very good shortbread recipe. I love chocolate and cherries together, but I didn't like them in a shortbread as much as I though I would. I would make these again, but I think either leave the cookies plain or add chopped pecans. Just a personal preference. Also, I did not use the icing from this recipe but instead used 'Chocolate Icing' by Linda Carroll and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a very good recipe. The only changes I made were too add a touch more almond flavoring. I doubled the recipe as well and it came out beautifully. I'm sure they will be a big hit at christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I'm rating this high because it looks very similar to a cookie I make at Christmas. I haven't tried this one but wanted to add a suggestion...I add macadamia nuts to mine and it's really good. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States