Cherry Chocolate Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erica Anderson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
We followed the recipe as it was written. As soon as we mixed the dough together and saw how much there was, we thought, "We need more cherries" but we were too far in to go back for more than the 21 oz can we bought just for trying this cobbler. It tasted pretty good but left you craving more cherry filling to go with the amount of cobbler topping. The dough also seemed very brownie like. Not exactly but made us wonder how just brownie mix would do on top. We would make this again but get more cherry pie filling. Its hard to have too much cherry anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Anderson
Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I'd use more cherries next time but we really liked it. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Outstandingly delicious and pretty simple to make. I also substituted blueberries & white chocolate chips on another occasion.Also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Absolutely simple but versatile recipe. I serve it for a fancy meal or just as a nice treat when I get home after a hard work day. I have also made variants with mint chips, white chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips. Also, switching the pie filling with raspberry, blueberry, peaches or apples makes a dessert just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is very easy but I would recommend using more cherries. I added some strawberries and served with vanilla strawberry swirl ice cream. I think the next time I will add strawberry pie filling instead. Just cuz im a strawberry girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was delicious. I used Ghirardelli chocolates which i believe made a big impact on the overall flavor. I would definitely recommend going for quality chocolate on this one. Also, i used one can of cherry pie filling (21 oz) in addition another 15oz frozen bag of black cherries. I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the frozen cherries with a little bit of corn starch, a splash of water, and almond extract. I also then poured the can of pie filling into the pan with the other cherries to make the flavor more uniform. I sprinkled sliced almonds over the top, and added some extra chocolate chips to the batter. I think overall it was amazing. Everyone at the dinner party i went to raved about it. I got comments like "Oh my gosh, this is gourmet!" and "I can't believe you made this!" The only thing i would do differently next time is to not add the extra chocolate chips to the batter. I think that it made it very rich, which i actually do love, but that it is yummy enough without them. I think that adding the extra cherries was imperative though, and made the dish perfect. It still fit in a 2-quart casserole dish. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was awesome! I too added two cans of cherries. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe and mine turned out very 'cakey' and not enough cherries. Next time I would use 2 cans of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Grandy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was a delicious hit. We served it with a bit of Cool Whip. I did use two cans of cherries, as I love cherry pie filling and wanted a lot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Faulkner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used white chocolate and is was great. I am going to try the same thing with blackberries when they are in season in Kentucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States