Cherry Chocolate Brownie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
YUM!!! I made this yesterday on a whim and because I had some cream cheese to use up. Its over half gone already! I did modify it a bit based on what I had on hand. I didnt have an 8oz brownie mix, so made one from scratch using the Hershey Best Brownie recipe. I also used a 9x13 pan since I dont have a springform pan. I also added chopped frozen dark sweet cherries on top of the brownie layer and added almonds to the brownies. Its wonderful. I have a new favorite dessert and this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was delicious!! I did make one substitution though. I switched out the cherry pie filling for strawberry pie filling instead. This also made way more than what a 9in springform pan would hold, so I made it in a 13x9 baking dish instead. But very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a yummy, decadent recipe. It's the perfect compromise when you can't decide between cherry pie, cheesecake, or brownies, and it pleases most sweet-tooths. I followed the recipe as is, except that I omitted the chocolate chips in the brownie crust, because it sounded a tad too rich. Ignore the reviewers who left out the cherry layer in between the cheesecake and brownie; that was the best part! A fairly simple, well-received dessert. Note: If your brownie crust didn't turn out right, it me be because you used a whole regular-sized brownie mix, which is 10.75 ounces more than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I just made this for a coworkers recipe and it turned out FABULOUS. I followed the recipe exactly (though I used canned e.b. smith cherry as we don't have lucky leaf here..) and it was super tasty. Served the whole thing to about 15 people with each person raving over how good it was! So no worries here folks - this is a very high quality, quick recipe for cheesecake. Making the brownie bottom is a lot less stressful for those who don't have a food processor too, because you don't have to mulch up the graham cracker crust. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
ok let me start by say when im trying a new recipes i try and follow the to a "T". as far as the browine mix there were 19 oz,16oz, and 12oz, but i found a package(not a box) that was 6. something oz's it was closer to 8oz so i went with that one worked fine. this cake turned out really good and it was easy to make i will be makeing this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjefferson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Best cheesecake I have ever had/made!! Very simple to make. After it is chilled I melt chocolate chips and with a fork drizzle on top.. Everyone loves when I make this(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this for my sweetie on Sweetest Day. He loved it! I did not put the extra layer of cherries between the brownie and cheesecake and put them all on top and it was just delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emeraldfairy02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
The 8 oz package of brownie mix was impossible to find - I made the "traditional" brownie mix in a box and baked it for 20 minutes rather than for 12. I also found the one large can of cherry pie filling was 20 oz rather than 21 oz and one can was definitely not enough to cover the top of the baked cheesecake mixture when one cup is used on top of the half baked brownies. Therefore, I opened another can of cherry pie filling and used that can plus what was left over from the first can in order to cover the top of the cheesecake. Turned out delicious and the modified recipe was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
a little on the chocolate side, every on loved it.the cake turned out so golden brown. i'd use less brownie mix next time though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I had such high hopes for this recipe, but it was just okay. The cheesecake layer needs some doctoring up to give it more flavor. Like others, I didn't have an 8 oz brownie mix, so I made up a regular-sized one according to the directions on the box and only used about half of it. That worked well enough. Thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States