Cherry Chocolate Brownie Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this for my sweetie on Sweetest Day. He loved it! I did not put the extra layer of cherries between the brownie and cheesecake and put them all on top and it was just delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emeraldfairy02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was delicious!! I did make one substitution though. I switched out the cherry pie filling for strawberry pie filling instead. This also made way more than what a 9in springform pan would hold, so I made it in a 13x9 baking dish instead. But very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This recipe DIDN'T work out for me, the brownie needed to be baked significantly longer than 12 mins...i took it out at 12 and the middle section was still GOOP therefore "ruining" the final cheesecake...not impressed. Other than that though, it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tablescraps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a yummy, decadent recipe. It's the perfect compromise when you can't decide between cherry pie, cheesecake, or brownies, and it pleases most sweet-tooths. I followed the recipe as is, except that I omitted the chocolate chips in the brownie crust, because it sounded a tad too rich. Ignore the reviewers who left out the cherry layer in between the cheesecake and brownie; that was the best part! A fairly simple, well-received dessert. Note: If your brownie crust didn't turn out right, it me be because you used a whole regular-sized brownie mix, which is 10.75 ounces more than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I just made this for a coworkers recipe and it turned out FABULOUS. I followed the recipe exactly (though I used canned e.b. smith cherry as we don't have lucky leaf here..) and it was super tasty. Served the whole thing to about 15 people with each person raving over how good it was! So no worries here folks - this is a very high quality, quick recipe for cheesecake. Making the brownie bottom is a lot less stressful for those who don't have a food processor too, because you don't have to mulch up the graham cracker crust. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
YUM!!! I made this yesterday on a whim and because I had some cream cheese to use up. Its over half gone already! I did modify it a bit based on what I had on hand. I didnt have an 8oz brownie mix, so made one from scratch using the Hershey Best Brownie recipe. I also used a 9x13 pan since I dont have a springform pan. I also added chopped frozen dark sweet cherries on top of the brownie layer and added almonds to the brownies. Its wonderful. I have a new favorite dessert and this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
brownie box mixes come in 11 oz sizes so i was confused on how to make the crust right. the cheesecake part was pretty tasteless...thank god for the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
ok let me start by say when im trying a new recipes i try and follow the to a "T". as far as the browine mix there were 19 oz,16oz, and 12oz, but i found a package(not a box) that was 6. something oz's it was closer to 8oz so i went with that one worked fine. this cake turned out really good and it was easy to make i will be makeing this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjefferson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
The 8 oz package of brownie mix was impossible to find - I made the "traditional" brownie mix in a box and baked it for 20 minutes rather than for 12. I also found the one large can of cherry pie filling was 20 oz rather than 21 oz and one can was definitely not enough to cover the top of the baked cheesecake mixture when one cup is used on top of the half baked brownies. Therefore, I opened another can of cherry pie filling and used that can plus what was left over from the first can in order to cover the top of the cheesecake. Turned out delicious and the modified recipe was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I had such high hopes for this recipe, but it was just okay. The cheesecake layer needs some doctoring up to give it more flavor. Like others, I didn't have an 8 oz brownie mix, so I made up a regular-sized one according to the directions on the box and only used about half of it. That worked well enough. Thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States