Cherry Chocolate Almond Croissant Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this for a company dinner and everyone loved it. It was both pretty and delicious. Definitely use an 8" square baking dish, or larger. It would never have fit into a pie dish. Be sure to add any left over milk-egg mix before putting on the top layer of cherries, chocolate, and nuts. The only thing I'd change in the future would be to only use 1/2 c. sliced almonds, and just put them on the top. I'll make this quick and easy dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Yum! I doubled the amount of cherry pie filling in the layers to use up the can. I also baked it in a 9x13 pan. I'm not sure how this would all fit in a deep dish pie plate. DO NOT pour the extra egg batter on at the end. Pour it on before you top with the final layer of cherries and chocolate. It will turn purple if you leave it on top of the cherries and is a bit off putting. I had to add another can of cherry pie filling to cover up the ickyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was a great recipe. Plans to fix it at the beach this summer with homemade vanilla ice cream...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hueytown, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this using poppyseed pastry filling, it had a good flavor BUT it was really eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was a great starter recipe. I had left-over croissants, but no cherry pie filling, so I made the following changes. Omitted the cherries, almonds and chocolate and added apple pie filling and cinnamon. I doubled the custard, adding a loose cup of brown sugar and about a tsp of cinnamon. I used enough croissants to fit in a 9 x 13 pan - I think it was six very large croissants. I assembled as instructed: soaking the bottom croissants topping with apple pie filling and adding the top croissants - also soaked. Poured the custard over the top, and pressed down to distribute custard evenly. Boy was this ever good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
TASTY! I used the whole can of cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Not overly sweet, I preferred mine cold with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Very good the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
What a great dessert! So easy & quick!! I substituted shaved chocolate for the chocolate chips and used half the can of cherry pie filling for each layer. It reminds me of a cross between cherry pie and bread pudding, very unique. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHOWES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States