Cherry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rhc
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good, the flavors go well together. The almonds are wonderful in this dish. I used boneless skinless chicken breast and just used a little more oil. I served it with rice on the side and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Totally awesome. Everyone went back for seconds The only modifications I made was (1) I dissolved the corn starch in orange juice, (2) I used thin sliced chicken, (2) I doubled the amount of cherries. Serving this over wild rice the extra cherry sauce made the rice really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I had to abort the first attempt at making this recipe because I had never used canned sweet dark cherries. After opening the can and tasting one of these mushy tasteless things- I was not about to ruin my chicken. Second time I used dried cherries heated in water till slightly softened- oh sooo much better -more flavor acutually taste like cherries and a little texture- FInished the recipe as written- using a half the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This recipe was out of this world good. I fried chicken breasts only in olive oil without the flour. Like one of the other posters, I also used fresh organic dark red cherries and just put sugar on them after I pitted and halved them. I used a small amount of water to mix in the cornstarch before putting in the pan to make the syrup. The orange slices were a nice added touch to the chicken and cherries. I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a good basic meal, except for the orange; nobody can eat this recipe with all the orange peel cooked in it. If you chop the peel in larger pieces and then remove before serving, might work better. Also...there is not enough liquid. You look at the photo, the chicken is swimming in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
It was good but not great. I used only 1 tbsp of olive oil to cut the fact content and used chicken breasts instead of whole chicken. I also used fresh cherries from my tree, tossing them with sugar and letting them sit for a few hours as another reviewer suggested. We just weren't crazy about it. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
If you're looking for a restaurant-quality, fruited chicken dish, this is it! It's cherry season in Washington State, so I used 1 pound of fresh Bing cherries, halved & pitted them, then tossed with a couple tablespoons of sugar and let sit a few hours prior to making the recipe. This made enough cherry juice to make the sauce later on. I also opted to bake the chicken in olive oil instead of pan-frying (I left out the flour when baking). When I was done making the sauce, I just poured it over the chicken in the baking pan and returned to the oven for 10 minutes. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Good basic recipe and doesn't need a lot of sugar. I don't eat meat so I substituted "Chikin Strips" from MorningStar's Meal Starters, reduced the sugar to 1 Tbspn., added 1/2 sliced onion, 1 shredded carrot, garlic powder and 2 Tbspn. oyster sauce and 2 Tbspn. cooking sherry before the corn starch mix is added. I also used fresh cherries to reduce the sugar content, split with and pitted with a small, serrated pairing knife. It is a great way to use up some of those leftover summer cherries. I served it with sauteed gnocchi and asparagus for a dinner entree. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I'm merely a beginner to the culinary arts scene, and I screwed this one a good bit. I used boneless breasts instead of a whole chicken. I didn't heat the oil enough before I put the chicken in and the flour burnt to the bottom of the pan in a nice crispy sheet. I scraped it off and kept going, though, and the end result was sensational. The sauce was delicious; sweet, tangy, and thick. This was my first crack at an allrecipes recipe, and I will definitely be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjblagg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
should be 10 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States