Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is yummy! Perfect for a diet. I used ground chicken and I reconstituted dried cherries. I can't wait until fresh cherries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I love sweet and salty combinations so this was perfect, especially on a sunny Spring day. I had carrots and waterchesnuts from a frozen stir fry mix in my freezer and added that, which worked out fine and the water chesnuts gave it a nice crunch. Also used dried cranberries, which I will be now adding more frequently to dishes now that I know how good this tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
These were a hit with the family and the other teenage boys our son had staying over. I followed most of sherrybeat's recommendations. I also added a half chopped red onion into chicken/mushroom/water chestnut mix. Doubled sauce (splitting half honey and half soy sauce) garlic powder and some red pepper flakes (to taste). Instead of chicken breasts, I used a rotissere chicken, shredded and chopped. This cut the prep time to almost nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was a good recipe. I had to use raisins b/c I had no cherries or craisins, but I'll make it again with dried cherries. The raisins are good, but make it more sweet. I bet the slight tartness of cherries would be even better. My kids, however, did not like it, but that's kids for you. We used iceberg lettuce. Bibb lettuce is my favorite for wraps but I didnt have it. But this is a keeper! I did have to make an extra batch of sauce to put on top of the mixture when serving. But that may be b/c I used slightly more chicken than the recipe called for. Regardless, making more sauce is a no brainer and it's nice to add it after you pile the chicken on to the lettuce leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Loved it! Didn't follow the recipe exactly. I added water chesnuts, used dried cherrys, and 1/4 cup Soy Vey Teriyaki which gave it great flavor, it would have been just fine without the fresh ginger and rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe -- even better as leftovers the next day. We used canned cherries because fresh were out of season and it gave the chicken mixture a weird red tint (especially the leftovers). Next time, we'll try craisins or dried cherries like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are GREAT! I didn't have cherries so I used craisins. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
i really enjoyed thi recipe as wraps but i also tried it a little differently i put all the ingredients in a bowl with the chicken uccooked and sort of marinated it then cooked it all together in a skillet like a stir-fry and served it over rice. everyone loved it including my fiance whose claims hes allergic to everything so he doesn't have to eat anything other then mcDonalds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We just finished having this meal and it was absolutely awesome! I reconstituted dried cherries (Added a little water to them and simmered for 15 minutes over medium heat - which was much easier than pitting cherries!) and we added red pepper flakes, but those were the only changes. We ran out of lettuce and just ate it straight out of the bowl. Wonderful recipe. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
We thought these were just ok. I followed the recipe exactly and in the end we found that we couldn't really taste the cherries. On the plus side, this is a fairly healthy recipe and it was quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States