Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was a good recipe. I had to use raisins b/c I had no cherries or craisins, but I'll make it again with dried cherries. The raisins are good, but make it more sweet. I bet the slight tartness of cherries would be even better. My kids, however, did not like it, but that's kids for you. We used iceberg lettuce. Bibb lettuce is my favorite for wraps but I didnt have it. But this is a keeper! I did have to make an extra batch of sauce to put on top of the mixture when serving. But that may be b/c I used slightly more chicken than the recipe called for. Regardless, making more sauce is a no brainer and it's nice to add it after you pile the chicken on to the lettuce leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Loved it! Didn't follow the recipe exactly. I added water chesnuts, used dried cherrys, and 1/4 cup Soy Vey Teriyaki which gave it great flavor, it would have been just fine without the fresh ginger and rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe -- even better as leftovers the next day. We used canned cherries because fresh were out of season and it gave the chicken mixture a weird red tint (especially the leftovers). Next time, we'll try craisins or dried cherries like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are GREAT! I didn't have cherries so I used craisins. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
i really enjoyed thi recipe as wraps but i also tried it a little differently i put all the ingredients in a bowl with the chicken uccooked and sort of marinated it then cooked it all together in a skillet like a stir-fry and served it over rice. everyone loved it including my fiance whose claims hes allergic to everything so he doesn't have to eat anything other then mcDonalds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We just finished having this meal and it was absolutely awesome! I reconstituted dried cherries (Added a little water to them and simmered for 15 minutes over medium heat - which was much easier than pitting cherries!) and we added red pepper flakes, but those were the only changes. We ran out of lettuce and just ate it straight out of the bowl. Wonderful recipe. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
We thought these were just ok. I followed the recipe exactly and in the end we found that we couldn't really taste the cherries. On the plus side, this is a fairly healthy recipe and it was quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I didn't read very far into the reviews, but I was suprised that no one mentioned how much carrot was in this recipe. Every bite tasted like carrot to me and even though I enjoy a carrot or two, I don't want it to be the prodominant taste in a meal. We didn't use the correct type of lettuce also, so it kept falling apart on the plate. I doubt I'll make this again, but if I do...less carrot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendizcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I really didn't care for the smell of this meal at all, but the taste was pretty good. I would prefer next time to use water chestnuts or something else over cherries however. The only changes I made was leaving out the onions (do not care them) and using a Honey Sake Teriyaki sauce rather than honey and teriyaki separately. I also I added some corn starch powder for extra thickness. I liked the dressing a lot and will be making some extra just to have on hand for salads. I would infact, prefer this as a salad. I used red lettuce, which did not hold up as a wrap. But making a little less for the top of a salad would be great!! I also threw in some baby corn (nuggets not spears) since I had some extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Delicious! Time consuming (pitting cherries, pre-cooking chicken, other prep) but a unique flavor that will make it all worthwhile. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States