Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
We frequently go to PF Chang's just for the chicken lettuce wraps so I was gratified to hear my family say that this recipe (with these modifications) tastes BETTER than PF Chang's. Here's what I did: Mix 3/4 cup shredded mushrooms and 1 can drained chopped water chestnuts with the chicken before cooking. Cook them all together. Omit the cherries. Double the sauce ingredients (but omit the honey) and add 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Add 1/2 tsp garlic powder and some red pepper flakes (to taste) to the sauce. Use the freshest, crunchiest inner lettuce cups for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This was WONDERFUL! My husband loved the ones at P.F. Changs so I found this recipe and made it with the changes recomended by Sherrybeat: Mix 3/4 cup shredded mushrooms and 1 can drained chopped water chestnuts with the chicken before cooking. Cook them all together. Omit the cherries. Double the sauce ingredients (but omit the honey) and add 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Add 1/2 tsp garlic powder and some red pepper flakes (to taste) to the sauce. Use the freshest, crunchiest inner lettuce cups for best flavor... Others recomended bib lettuce, but my husband prefered the crunch of the iceberg lettuce (I agree) so I'll go back to that next time. It didn't take that long to make (with a food processor) and was soooo good! Next time I'll try making the ginger lemonade with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This dish was wonderful! I followed Kerry K's suggestions, with one exception, I added "cherry flavored" Craisins, instead of real cherries. I thought to myself, "why omit the cherries, when this dish is called CHERRY CHICKEN WRAPS?". The Cherry Craisins were so easy and quick to use, verses real cherries, and the frustration that goes with "pitting" them. The result was yummy, and the presentation was awesome! My husband and oldest daughter LOVED them, and want me to make them again. Great summer dish, or anytime dish! Thanks a lot for sharing this one! This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is nice but SOOO much better a day or two later - perfect picnic food. With more chopping than cooking, it's a good pick for a novice cook. Use soft flexible lettuce (butter lettuce is great) that won't tear as much - and whatever you do, stay away from iceberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I know I've already reviewed this recipe but I just had this again last night (had to wait a whole YEAR for cherries!) and it's still fabulous! In reading the other reviews I had to laugh - some have omitted the cherries! Why bother making chicken CHERRY lettuce wraps if you omit the cherries? Sorry - I really like cherries and this is the best meal I've had in a long time! Healthy, lots of flavor, simple, although somewhat time consuming with the pitting of the cherries. One note about the lettuce - make sure you buy a hearty lettuce. The red leaf was way too thin and flimsy to hold the bundle. I ended up just making a salad of it - which was fine too. I'd pick Romaine or Butter lettuce - something with a stiffer leaf. Thanks Barry for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I'm not sure what I did wrong here but it just didn't come out that great or even. It also took me FOREVER to make. prep time of 15 minutes is pretty funny. i guess you could buy everything pre-chopped, halved, minced, etc. but buy then, wouldn't it just be cheaper to go to pf chang's?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
We loved these! The reviewers who omitted the cherries missed out...they added great flavor, texture & juicyness to the mix. I cut the recipe in half, used frozen/thawed rotissirie chicken (sauteed it in the oil & ginger for a couple of minutes to infuse it w/ flavor), I used ginger-in-a-tube (I added extra) & I used finely minced red onion instead of the green onions. I decreased the carrots some & I used red leaf lettuce. Bibb lettuce might make it more convenient to eat but we both liked the slight crunch from the leaf lettuce. Even though I cut the recipe in half & decreased the carrots, I made the full recipe of sauce...I'm glad because I think it would have been too dry & not nearly as flavorful w/out it. I also made this up a couple of hours ahaed & kept it in the fridge...I think it needs time for the flavors to meld. I didn't take a pic, thinking that there would be leftovers & I could do it the next day in natural light but we ate it all! LOL With a glass of white zin, this was perfect for a hot summer night...thanks Barry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is wonderful! I have used craisins or dried cherries (since fresh cherries aren't available too often where I live) and sunflower kernels instead of the almonds. I also topped the wrap with shredded cabbage/carrot cole slaw mix. This has become regular meal in our home. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Refreshing and fun. Per others' suggestions, I added mushrooms and craisins. I cooked it all in the crockpot (minus the green onion, carrots and craisins) to save cooking time. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Great recipes. My husband is such a big fan of lettuce wraps that on occassions we wud pay PFChangs a visit just to have their wraps!! Now that i have this fabulous recipe..i can make it at home whenever. I made a few changes though,i used minced chicken, omitted the cherries & the honey, and instead of the almonds i added waterchestnuts and someone suggested added 2tbsps of Dark soy sauce. Thank you soo much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States