Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was the best recipe for chicken luttuce wraps! I made this recipre two times, and both times it was a success!I was told by my mom that the second time was my best!First time I used mushrooms, and a jar of asian veggies , celery,had no water chestnuts, so added cheshews for a big cruch, and big ginger chucks. The second time I omitted the mushrooms , cut up the ginger smaller,(I thought the frist time the ginger was too strong) and added celery again. I did less of the veggie ingredience,had no chashews but this time had water chestnuts. I guess in this case, less is more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
First time making chicken lettuce wraps and they came out delicious. I didn't have vinegar or teriyaki sauce, so I used lemon juice and soy sauce instead. I also put a dash of oyster sauce and sweet chili sauce. I marinated the chicken breasts overnight and they came out divine. I really enjoyed the hint of fresh ginger. I also quickly sauteed the carrots in the chicken mixture (I still wanted the carrots to have a crunch). I served the chicken with butter lettuce (which in my opinion, is the perfect lettuce for this dish as it holds in the chicken just perfectly) and topped the chicken with some crunchy bean sprouts. I was trying to mimic those restaurants that serve these wraps with those small crunchy noodles on top. The bean sprouts definitely added a great crunch and freshness to the wrap. I was planning on serving this with a hot horseraddish sauce (thinned out) but the chicken was already very flavorful. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
A great addition to my collection of chicken recipes....even my picky sister went back for seconds. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
These are really good! I've fixed this dish a couple of times now and it's great and keeps well too for a brown bag lunch. If there is a secret to eating them though I sure would like to know as the lettuce is a bit fragile and after a bite you end up with pieces falling out all over and they are not easy to eat neatly. This dish was a little tart and a little tangy and just a hint of sweet from the cherries. I liked the crunch the almonds gave this too. I'm glad I used the cherries even though my son didn't care for them as they really went well and the flavor was great with the ginger and chicken. I used ginger paste. We sort of miss the bread though and had the urge to wrap this in a flatbread lettuce and all... Thanks, I had great fun trying something new and different from our normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
These are a fun way to use cherries in summer cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Very good. (It may have helped that we had fantastic fresh cherries available.) It was also good as a cold lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I made this for a picnic and my friend thanked me about 5 or 6 times. Modifications: To cook ginger root you peel the skin and then dice the inside. I used my hands to pit the cherries (faster than a knife). You just twist it to get the first half and then pry the other side off the pit. I used apple cider vinegar instead of rice vinegar. I cooked the chicken in the oven before I cut it up and sauted it. It is easier to cut cooked. I toasted the almonds in the remaining ginger and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I rated this recipe 4 stars b/c it was just lacking one thing. The sauce was great but the chicken itself was very plain. I followed sherryboat's instructions to a "T" except I marinated the chicken in teriyaki, soy sauce, chinese five spice, and the ginger. Then I browned the chicken (it should be whole not cut into chunks) in a pan and baked in the oven with the water chesnuts till done about 20 minutes. I sliced up the chicken and served in sauce on lettuce. This made the chicken very flavorful and I give my alterations 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Followed the first reviewers suggestions and these turned out very yummy. Very similar to PF Changs. Looking forward to lunch leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Followed directions but doubled the sauce per others suggestions. Used dried cherries but added snow pea pods. This gave it very good flavor and crunch. Will definitely make again and cut back a little on the shredded carrots. Also used butter/bibb lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States