Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I enjoyed these, but none of the other 3 people I made them for seemed to dig them (and ate very little of them). I followed the recipe, though I did use already grilled/shredded meat and used dried cherries when I couldn't find fresh. I'm looking forward to taking the leftovers for lunch. THANKS for a unique recipe, barry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made a serving of four of this. Wow! Really delish! I almost skipped the cherries since I didn't have any on hand. It was worth the trip to the market. DON'T leave these out! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tastes fantastic.. Just wrap with more than one lettuce leaf because they tend to split when you bite into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabbicatc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I make it almost exactly how it appears (yes, cherries and all!). I like to make extra sauce, and mix all the ingredients together (after cooking ginger + chicken) and let it simmer with the sauce. This is a huge hit at my house! This is also a great recipe to use left over veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe is extremely delicious! I made it WITH the cherries, and I have to say they REALLY make the dish. I let some of my friends try it, and they fell in love with it. I even got my friend who doesn't like cherries at all to eat it! I took another reviewers suggestion and added water chestnuts and mushrooms, and I added just a teensy bit more honey (about a tsp more) because I like it. But otherwise I left the recipe as it was. I will definitely be making this again; it's great for a busy college student!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very yummy recipe. My hubby & I both loved it. Made it as a side to Vegetable Lo Mein. Wished we had more lettuce in the house: we ran out 3/4 of the way through the chicken mix! The only thing I changed was what the other reviewer's suggested: no cherries & no honey. I also added an easy sauce that we dizzled on top: 1/4 cup soy sauce, 2 tsps. fresh grated ginger, & 1 tbsp. rice vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Leona Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this without the cherries, but not by choice. They were astronomically expensive (a fun surprise at the checkout counter) so I opted out until they go on sale :) I doubled the sauce, based on some other reviews, and it was quite tasty! I had to use cashews instead of peanuts, because that's all I had, and peanut oil instead of canola. Great dish that I WILL make again, probably when the price of cherries drops a bit. Fairly quick and healthy dinner choice. Paired it with some sesame broccoli and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I loved this, a perfect summer dish. The cherries add a juicy sweet texture and blended with the crunch of the almonds and the tenderness of the chicken plus the freshness of the lettuce, this is a must have in everyones recipe box. I put the sauce on the side for dipping and added jasmine rice in with the mix and it was divine! I forgot the green onions while shopping so I omitted it but still delicious! I also doubled the sauce because that seemed to go fast, healthy and delicious A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These were decent, but are in need of major help IMHO (maybe more sauce???). With a few tweaks here and there, I do believe these could be MUCH better tho. I really like the concept, so I'm not throwing in the towel just yet. :) These are perfect for a hot summer meal - they're light, healthy and make use of the season's freshest produce. On that note, DO NOT skip the cherries. After all, the title of this recipe is "cherry" chicken lettuce wraps (duh...)! These are pretty dry as is. Fresh cherries add juciness. Without them, I can't imagine how dry my chicken mixture would have been. I pretty much followed Barry's directions to the letter except for a few (minor) changes. The idea of having large cherry chunks in my wraps didn't appeal to me, so I cut each half into quarters. I also chopped my chicken into tiny pieces after cooking it (again, personal preference). And, in an effort to speed prep (pitting cherries is VERY time consuming!), I purchased a package of matchstick carrots. These retained their crispy texture much better than shredded carrots would have. NOTE: Be sure to use a sturdy lettuce for your wraps. Romaine won't cut it. Try Boston or California Bibb (I used Boston Bibb lettuce). Served wtih a side of coconut ginger rice (Thai Town brand) and iced ginseng tea, this was an allright meal. My hubby didn't approve, but he isn't a fan of lettuce wraps (or fruit) anyways. Thanks for sharing, barry! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I couldn't believe how delicious this was. I kept double checking the recipe, I couldn't believe ginger was the only real spice added. I had already torn up all my romaine so I just served the chicken on a bed of lettuce. And I didn't have any fresh ginger so I used 1 tsp ground. It turned out great, and my salad-hating fiance even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States