Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I really didn't care for the smell of this meal at all, but the taste was pretty good. I would prefer next time to use water chestnuts or something else over cherries however. The only changes I made was leaving out the onions (do not care them) and using a Honey Sake Teriyaki sauce rather than honey and teriyaki separately. I also I added some corn starch powder for extra thickness. I liked the dressing a lot and will be making some extra just to have on hand for salads. I would infact, prefer this as a salad. I used red lettuce, which did not hold up as a wrap. But making a little less for the top of a salad would be great!! I also threw in some baby corn (nuggets not spears) since I had some extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Delicious! Time consuming (pitting cherries, pre-cooking chicken, other prep) but a unique flavor that will make it all worthwhile. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Fairly time consuming recipe; lots of chopping of ingredients just takes time. I used plums and walnuts instead of cherries and almonds. My wife absolutely loved the results -- left me a little underwhelmed. Rating is based on her taste, not mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Mmmm, another yummy one! Much more convenient with a cherry pitter and food processor. Made the "dressing" as is and like it a lot. Needed to add some salt & pepper for my taste, and didnt have chicken breasts, so I deboned some thighs I had. Worth it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I think this is an awesome dish. Try using dried cherries since they are available year-round. Also, try putting the mix in pita bread instead of lettuce. The lettuce just falls apart and is very messy. This dish is delicious when served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wallace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I tried this recipe, but wasn't really "wowed" by it. The whole lettuce wrap was bland tasting, perhaps it would taste better on a tortilla or some sort of bread. At any rate, I won't be making this again without doctoring it up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Updated once I can honestly review the recipe WITH cherries once they were in season: We didn't care for it! Wierd. We liked them better the way I made them originally without the cherries. The dressing still ROCKS though! Original review: Followed this recipe with the exception of not using any cherries since they aren't in season here yet. Once the dish was done it was actually quite bland, so added some sesame oil, toasted sesame seeds and some Asian garlic chili paste. It ended up tasting great. Will try this again with my changes + adding cherries once I can get them in a few weeks. So while the recipe wan't perfect for us as it is, I want to add that we enjoy the "dressing" part of this recipe - 1T oil, rice vinegar, teriyaki sauce, toasted almonds, honey, green onion. We eat it on coleslaw and salad. I keep a batch of it in the fridge all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2sweetpeas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Obviously, I'm in the minority here, but this was just "OK" for me. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using dried cherries in place of the dark sweet cherries. It was just too sweet for my taste. I might try it again using water chesnuts as the previous reviewer did. That would reduce the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was excellent. I omitted the cherries and added chopped water chestnuts. It was just as good for left overs the next day. Watch out PF Changs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States