Cherry Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I just searched this recipe for fun on allrecipes as it is a family tradition for my husband's family. They've been a Christmas tradition for as long as he can remember (as a boy and he's over 50 now lol). They are loved by all, the trick it to cut them very very small so that the sweetness is not overpowering. The joke in this family is that they were often made and frozen to have for Christmas, but the boys would get into the freezer and none would be left by Christmas. Today they still eat them frozen half the time... give it a try! Glad to see this recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I used unsweetened coconut and walnuts instead of pecans. This was WAY too sweet for me, but I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 3 because the husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
very yummy but for the cherries put in food processer it makes it much easyer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Very good, all the flavors come through. I chopped the cherries into small pieces with a food processor before putting them in, which helped to distribute them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Two recommendations - cut the cherries into quarters for better distribution throughout the mix, and reduce the amount of frosting. I think I made my frosting with 3 cups of powdered sugar and there was still too much! I'd make just enough to put a pink drizzle over the top of the bars rather than coating the entire surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
These bars are so good, there are no words to describe them, all I can say is that I could eat the whole pan in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I made these for Christmas, and they were an instant hit. Several people asked for the recipe as a must have at their own celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
They were easy enouph to prepare, but I found with the addition of all that icing they were too sweet. Will either cut the icing by half or may try a cream cheese icing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Absolutely fabulous..I used almonds instead of pecans and wow. They didn't last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States