Cherry Cheezecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
i used less lemon and substituted brown sugar for the powdered. i also bought a premade crust. i'm new to vegan cooking and was really suprised at how great this turned out. when we finished it my boyfriend bought the ingredients to make another one. i think i actually prefer this to real cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I loved this! I had extra blocks of Nasoya extra firm tofu on hand and wanted to try something new. I made my pie in a pre-made pie-crust and left out the lemon aspect all together. I combined it with the chocolate tofu dream pie (a pudding pie) recipe on the site and made it chocolate cherry cheesecake. It was simple, I just added some baking coacoa into the mix (about 1/2 - 1/3 cup). I also used fat-free cream cheese since having dairy wasn't a problem for me. Thank you so much for this recipe! I was skeptical at first, but I will definitely make it again. Even thinking of a gluten-free version for my sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used less of the lemon juice and added butter extract. Also used fat free cream cheese and made the crust with 2 C graham crackers and 1/4 c butter. I made a sauce out of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries for the topping. No one knew it was made with tofu. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I gave this a 5* even though I didn't care for the crust, because the filling is great (just like cheesecake) and my husband liked it! (he hates tofu). I used Azumaya Firm Tofu and Tofutti imitation cream cheese and it cut great. Also used Tofu Sour Cream instead of soy milk, only 1 Tb lemon juice and skipped the rind. Will definitely make again, but with another crust (this one was soggy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Fantstic taste. Served it at a work party- nobody could tell it wasn't the "Real" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I tried this recipe for our vegan friend's birthday - he seldom gets to eat desserts, let alone cheesecake! Well, everyone at the party loved it and didn't know it was dairy & egg-free. I did add a bit of vegetable oil to the crust so it would stick together better, and I also substituted fresh strawberries simmered in jam for the topping. I would definitely recommend anyone (especially vegans) to try it. It's so easy to make - if it didn't turn out right, you may have used the wrong type of tofu (make sure that it's the silken kind for sauces). The second time I made it, I doubled the recipe just so there would be enough for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I am NOT a good cook and I needed something impressive to take to my next veggie potluck, this is PERFECT!!! This cheesecake is sooo good! I did like everyone said and used less lemon, and I used firm silken tofu, it held together nicely but was a little tricky to slice so I think next time I will use X-Firm. Deffinately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
My oldest son is allergic to egg and milk, so I am always looking for recipes the whole family will enjoy. This was a wonderful cheesecake. My husband loved it, and we were actually shocked that it taste so good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This was my first try at making non-dairy cheesecake, and I was more than a little disappointed. I only altered the recipe slightly, making mini cheesecakes in metal cupcake cups instead of one whole cheesecake, and I also used less lemon and more vanilla. But I was disappointed in the texture, as well as the taste. My boyfriend, who is not LI, did not like it at all, and even though I am used to the taste of tofu and soy, I did not care for it either. IMO it definitely left something to be desired, and was not a good substitute for the real thing. However, I think I will try this recipe one more time, just to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
i really enjoyed this recipe. of all vegan cheesecake recipes i've made this was the best. the texture was real similar to cheesecake. My husband enjoyed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States