Cherry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My grandmother had a cook book from the 1970's with this exact same recipe. My husbands loves it and asks for it every birthday. Having made it numerous times, I've learned a few tips to helping it set. 1) You have to use all the amount of lemon juice called for or it won't taste right. 2) You must chill for 5 hours at least, preferably overnight. 3) Don't make it on a sweltering hot 90 degree weather day with no end in sight or it will not set. (Don't ask, lol) 4) If you make your own baked graham cracker or vanilla wafer crust, wait till it has cooled completely to put in filling. As a extra measure I also put the crusts in the freezer for 10 minutes or so. 5) Serve the cherry pie filling on the side. 6) I sometimes use extra cream cheese, but it has set just fine with and without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I have made this cheesecake several times and have found it mistake proof every time!! I love it and so do the people I make it for. Cream cheese must b room temp and lemon juice essential:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My husband loves cherry cheesecake and this is his favorite recipe! It sets in 5 hours and is totally firm and ready to eat! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Taste is ok, easy to make... Mine was chilled for 10 hours and is still runny. Also the condensed milk takes over the flavour of the 'cheese' Probably wouldn't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Tradition in husband's family, and they all liked this version. Theirs usually has whipped cream on top, though. Doubled recipe to make a 9x13 pan. Expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very rich and creamy. I doubled the recipe for the filling and made it in a spring form pan so it's easier to cut. I also let the topping sit on the top while it chilled. Everyone loved it, but make sure not to take too big a slice, it's so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was not for us. Though it set up, it was still quite "wobbly" and the flavor was a bit odd. It wasn't our favorite cheesecake. I'm not a cheesecake novice, I followed the recipe exact. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and let the cheesecake chill overnight, for over ten hours, and it NEVER SET. It was just a runny pudding-esque liquid. I don't understand what all of these people with the positive reviews did, but they must have altered the recipe in some way, because I did EXACTLY as it says, and it did NOT work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadPooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States