Cherry Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
it was ok...not what i necessarily was looking for, but in a pinch it will work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My Grandma Helen used to make this all the time and everyone loved it! She used to call it "Cherry O'Cream Cheese Pie". Now, I get to make it. First she would take the graham craker crust and let it bake in the oven at 350 for 8-10 minutes and then let it cool. For those of you having trouble with it setting, her recipe card calls for 1/3 cup of lemon juice, not 1/2 cup. Let the cream cheese soften to room temp and whip it until fluffy then gradually add the milk and beat until well blended. Then add the vanilla and lemon juice. Chill it for at least 3 hours. Then she would add the cherry pie filling on top. I'm sure then it'll come out just like hers did. And like Grandma's always do, she'd add whipped cream on top! Those were the days..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Tried to make this and it never set right. Filling was runny and taste was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Super tasty. I don't even waste time with the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years. I believe it is on the philadelphia cream cheese 8 oz. package. (At least it used to be.) I love the lemon flavor. I have a real sweet tooth. Yummmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Average pie. Definitely not as good a cheesecake but is a nice quick dessert in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I think the problem with the bad feedback on this is because it says 14 ounces of condensed sweetened milk and it should read 8 ounces. One small can to each 8 ounce block of cheese. I used 3 cheese to 2 milk and beat it until it was fluffy and it was delicious. The extra cheese helps to take away the excessive sweetness. I backed off a little on the lemon juice too. About 2/3 of what it calls for even though I added the extra cheese. Also, the cheese should stay cool to get a fluffier pie. I took it to a dinner last night and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe, if you follow to a T, is NOT good. HOWEVER, I Fixed it! I just added another package of cream cheese to this recipe and made 2 pies instead of one. I don't think I will use sweetened condensed milk next time either. With 2 packages of cream cheese it was light and fluffy, and set up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is one of the first things I learned to make as a kid. This time I altered it a little. I was pressed for time and my co-workers wanted me to make a key lime cheese cake. So instead of using lemon juice I used key lime juice. It came out great. In the words of my co-worker it was slap-yo-mama good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
We loved this pie! I used fresh sliced strawberries piled on top and it was wonderful. Mine didn't set as firm as I'd like but I may have rushed it a bit. Also I didn't compile it in the order it said and I may have beat it too long. I only used 1/4 C of lemon juice. I may try just using 2-3 T of concentrated lemon juice next time. I will try layering this in parfait glasses with the strawberries for summer. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Finley, Washington, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States