Cherry Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Pretty good recipe! I let it set overnight and followed the recipe exactly and it still does not cut out of the pan perfectly. It wasn't runny but it wasn't cheesecake consistency either like the picture appears. But my family and I enjoyed it and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This did not firm up after 6 hours. Eventually, I put in the freezer and that did the trick! Great taste, but will use slightly less lemon juice and buttermilk to see if this will help with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I have been making this recipe for about 20 years. It works great and tastes great. For all the people that said it is runny, you either didn't mix it all together well enough or didn't use enough lemon juice. I made that mistake once because I didn't have lemon juice and thought it was just for flavor. That is what makes it firm! Do not skip that ingredient! I always take the cream cheese out of the fridge first too and warm it up a bit. That helps it mix with the other ingredients properly. Run it in the mixer a little longer too, around 3-5 minutes on a medium mix speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Forgot to mention, my family makes this in a blender = easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
To make sure the filling sets up beat the cheese til it's very smooth and fluffy, then add the condensed milk slowly like a couple of tablespoons at a time and beat til it thickens up before adding more. Think of it like making whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
HINT***Knox (unflavored) Gelatin...for those who have problem with pie setting. Mix 1 1/2 to 2 t of it into your fresh squeezed, 1/3 cup of lemon juice & let it stand for 1 minute before incorporating into cream cheese/milk mixture. If you use fresh--crush your pulp or strain it. I've experimented with flour & cornstarch & while both did thicken, it gave pasty-chalky texture to filling. Thus the reason I tried gelatin. It lends no flavor, keeps the creamy texture & you DON'T have to decrease lemon juice which is key for the pies delicious taste. I sometimes add 1 T of fresh grated lemon peel to my filling. You could always add (instead of gelatin) an additional 1/4 cup of cream cheese but I think it cuts the intensity of the lemon juice. The original Kraft/Phildelphia recipe calls for putting the Cherry Pie Filling on top of whole pie but I believe this aids in the filling not setting well enough for clean slicing. I think it's just too heavy & wet a topping for a cream-type pie. It also makes pie look terrible after a few days (leaking). Anyway, I've always diplored that part of the pie. I HATE, Yuck, HATE that gooey, gelatinous glop of 'over processed' mess. Did I forget to say I hate that stuff?. I prefer thawed sweetened strawberries, frozen cherries or fresh strawberries macerated in sugar & a large dash or two of Grand Marnier. Whatever topping you choose, try spooning over individual slices instead...gelatin or not. But gelatin will give solid slicing. Promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have been making this pie since 1992 and it's the best tasting pie ever. My brother calls every year to ask how to make it. It can come out runny if you (a) over mix it with the hand blender, sometimes it's best to hand mix with a spoon when you add the lemon juice OR (b) do not put enough lemon juice, since the lemon juice is the binder that makes it set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I make this pie every year for every major holiday! Family counts on it! Started making it when I was little, now MUCH older and teaching my little one to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have made this pie for years and it is always a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is a family favorite that is a staple at every holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States