Cherry Berry Smoothies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
My 8 year old and I both loved this! I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mohammad Alhobayyeb
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Fantastic!! My family enjoyed it after adding 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mohammad Alhobayyeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
To make a thicker smoothie, freeze the red grapes. Of course, some liquid is necessary for the blender to do it's work so I wouldn't freeze everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
An unfortunate drawback of this recipe is that most kitchens, unless you've made a point of specifically shopping for the ingredients for this recipe, probably don't have cherry juice, vanilla yogurt, raspberries and red grapes all at the ready to make this smoothie - except for me on this particular occasion and only because I had recently made a major grocery shopping trip. I say unfortunate because Hubs, who really enjoys his weekend smoothies, says this is probably one of the best he's ever had. The recipe, then, is rather limiting. He said ideally he'd have liked it a little thicker but I don't know how you'd do that without significantly altering the taste. Except for reducing the sugar by half, which proved to be a good call, I made this exactly as written. While you do taste the cherry, this is still predominantly raspberry, but the two flavors meld to create something uniquely delicious. This is NOT your same ol,' same ol' berry smoothie. Another interesting observation is that I've just noticed this supposedly is three servings, which I'm sure for most "normal" people it is. But Hubs drank the whole thing, lickety-split. If you're lucky enough to have all these not-so-common ingredients on hand, gather them up and make this. If not, put them on your grocery list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Wow, this was so good! I didn't have any cherry juice so I used reduced calorie/sugar orange juice and I left out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
In order to make the smoothie thicker without a significant taste alteration, freeze the yogurt and raspberries (and even the cherry juice if you want.) Take them out of the freezer 20 minutes before making it so they're not rock hard. Or if you are impatient like me, slightly defrost in the microwave at a low power. Cutting the juice down to 1/4 cup will also make it thicker, but it does alter the taste somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mewantfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Awesome! I used Trader Joe's cherry cider for the cherry juice (regular cherry juice is SO expensive!). I also used blackberries in place of the raspberries (it's what I had) and threw in a couple of handfuls of spinach and 3 tbsp of ground flax seed. Omitted the sugar altogether and still found it to be plenty sweet. We really enjoyed this, thanks for the delicious recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Hmm, I actually picked up cherry juice just to make this smoothie because it sounded so good, but I found it to be overpoweringly sweet/tart and rather too 'rich' in a sense. It might be better 'watered' down with a bit of milk, or for that matter water, as one reviewer suggested. I may try that as now I need to use up the cherry juice :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this purposely because I've been looking for smoothies with cherry - this isn't common. I have frozen cherries but not cherry juice, so I too had to buy it special. The pure cherry juice was VERY expensive, so I ended up getting one that had some apple juice as well, which was still fairly expensive. I didn't taste any one fruit in particular - it just tasted fruity, but it also wasn't that flavorful. Granted, I didn't use the pure cherry juice, but I drank the rest of the cherry/apple as is and it was not weak on flavor. (Have to wonder if the grapes somewhat weakened it.) Thickness wasn't an issue IMO, but the raspberries and grapes were both frozen, and besides of which, I don't care that much unless it's pure liquidy. I can't hack the raspberry seeds so I've started straining them, and despite all that juice this was difficult to strain. (I got a tablespoon of seeds from this!) In the end, I just didn't think it was worth it, between straining and expensive juice that I have no other use for. (I think I will instead try to create something of my own using my frozen cherries. This does at least give me some ideas as a starting point.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Triple Threat Fruit Smoothies

Dessert or nutritious snack, you can't beat smoothies made with Dannon Yogurt.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States