Cherry-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Everyone liked this pie and it set up well; however, most people said they'd prefer strawberry or cherry rather than the mixed flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Try using frozen raspberries instead of the strawberries; this take the pie to a whole new level of "yum"! Highly recommend this recipe for something different! And do be sure to use the sour cherries, not canned cherry pie filling- would be way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Not bad, made it for a bbq, it was gobbled up. When I asked hubby what he thought of it, he said "good, definately enjoyed it, but not enough to ask you to make it again", so there you go...worth one time, but not a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCMADDOX
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe! Only change was to use egg wash on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I decided to try this pie three weeks ago and have now made it three times for different holidays and potlucks. I have brought home an empty pie dish each time. I made it exactly as directed above and it is lovely. The actual size of the canned cherries called for doesn't exist in my area - replacing with more berries works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Terrific pie, I suggest for a healthier option to use 1/2 cup of Splenda and choose the cherries in water. I also added 1/4 cup of burgundy and strawberry puree into the mix and disregarded the tapioca. The pie falls apart when cut hot, but its absolutely delicious and hard to resist. Also pie making tip in general: brush the top of the crust with egg whites for that golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought this was going to be a great pie, but didn't turn out so good. The filling reminded me of grape jelly. Not sure why, followed the recipe exact. The pie set up nice and looked pretty with ths sugar on top of the crust. The flavor and texture were weird though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Wow, this was great pie!! I used fresh strawberries and cherries (not sour cherries) - I sliced the berries and cherries and sprinkled them with sugar/lemon juice, stirred and let them sit for about 5 minutes. I mixed the dry ingredients (tapioca, sugar, cornstarch & salt) with 3/4 cup of water and the juice from the berries, let it boil for 5 minutes, added the sliced fruit and boiled for another 2 mintues. I used a "shortbread cookie" crust (like a graham cracker crust), no top crust and baked it at 350 F for 20 minutes. My husband and kids were disappointed that there was only 1 pie and not 1 EACH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving dessert and everyone passed on the pumpkin pie and went for the berry pie. They loved it and so did I. I used two can's of cherries and one bag of stawberries. It was wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This pie was great! I made it for a pie auction and it sold for $100.00! I also of coarse had to make one for myself too! YUMMY! My whole family went nuts over it! Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States