Cherry-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Great Pie, thanks for sharing, I have made this several times, I even have taken it to the Pie Social in the village on Band Concert Night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I made this recipe with frozen home-grown strawberries and cherries; it was great! Wait until it is cooled to eat or else it will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
My family loves this pie! I've made it for them a couple times, and both times got rave reviews. It's nice and sweet yet the cherries add a bit of sour at the same time. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I really liked this pie. I'm a huge fan of cherry pie, but I've never really been a strawberry pie fan unlike my husband he goes nuts for strawberry pie. This was a nice pie because it wasn't as overly sweet as a strawberry pie is. Nice balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilacBuddhaCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This pie was great! I made it for a pie auction and it sold for $100.00! I also of coarse had to make one for myself too! YUMMY! My whole family went nuts over it! Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving dessert and everyone passed on the pumpkin pie and went for the berry pie. They loved it and so did I. I used two can's of cherries and one bag of stawberries. It was wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Wow, this was great pie!! I used fresh strawberries and cherries (not sour cherries) - I sliced the berries and cherries and sprinkled them with sugar/lemon juice, stirred and let them sit for about 5 minutes. I mixed the dry ingredients (tapioca, sugar, cornstarch & salt) with 3/4 cup of water and the juice from the berries, let it boil for 5 minutes, added the sliced fruit and boiled for another 2 mintues. I used a "shortbread cookie" crust (like a graham cracker crust), no top crust and baked it at 350 F for 20 minutes. My husband and kids were disappointed that there was only 1 pie and not 1 EACH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought this was going to be a great pie, but didn't turn out so good. The filling reminded me of grape jelly. Not sure why, followed the recipe exact. The pie set up nice and looked pretty with ths sugar on top of the crust. The flavor and texture were weird though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Terrific pie, I suggest for a healthier option to use 1/2 cup of Splenda and choose the cherries in water. I also added 1/4 cup of burgundy and strawberry puree into the mix and disregarded the tapioca. The pie falls apart when cut hot, but its absolutely delicious and hard to resist. Also pie making tip in general: brush the top of the crust with egg whites for that golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I decided to try this pie three weeks ago and have now made it three times for different holidays and potlucks. I have brought home an empty pie dish each time. I made it exactly as directed above and it is lovely. The actual size of the canned cherries called for doesn't exist in my area - replacing with more berries works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States