Cherry Bell Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
This has been a Christmas favorite in my family for three generations. Great cookie. I chill the dough for about 20 min before rolling and also cut back the butter in the filling a little (it seems to make it spread less). Glad to see you put this one in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Thank you SO MUCH!! My mom made this recipe when we were kids. I was only 11 when she passed away in 1975 and have not had this recipe since. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. They taste just like the ones mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I like many of the other cooks who rated this recipe love it! My mother also made these at Christmas. They were my favorite and I always asked her to make them at Christmas. After I was grown and had a family of my own she gave me the recipe and told me it was my turn to make them. I can see why she did so as they are time consuming to make, but so worth every minute you spend making them. My mother passed away 2 years ago and I am so glad she had the wisdom to give me this recipe and teach me to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
We recently held a bake sale and I make these cookies to sell, though I used a sun-shaped cookie cutter. People bought one, then came back to buy more to eat and take home. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I have been looking for this receipe for a long time. My mom used to make these when we were kids and we lost the receipe book that it was in. Thank you so much for putting it here it brings back alot of good memories of my parents working together in the kitchen making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The bell shape does not stay, kind of turns into a "bigfoot" shape. Not a pretty cookie, too big. Taste was nothing special. The filling got lost in the size of cookie this is. Marlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
A DEFINITE keeper in my Christmas Cookie File. Wish I had more stars to give. A lot of work to prepare but well worth it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made these for the first time this weekend, and we certainly have a keeper! Huge hit with the family. The flavor is amazing, and the cherries are so festive and cheerful. Confession, though....I lacked time to roll out, cut, and shape the cookies so I rolled them into small balls and flattened them by hand. So they weren't bells per se....more like maybe Christmas Tree ornaments... Either way, they were festive looking and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSNIBBLE
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Great Recipe! We let them cool on the pan before moving them. See the picture I submitted to see how they turned out. After a few days they are still soft, chewy cookies. My daughters enjoyed making these over the afternoon. Thanks for the new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Wow! This was great. It didn't even bake all the way in the middle and it didn't even matter. My guests loved it--even the less-done middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States