Cherry Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe. My proportions weren't exactly the same as she shared. I used a lot more frozen sweet cherries so I added milk to thin it enough to blend (I made 8 servings), omitted the ice, and used vanilla instead of almond extract. The recipe, though, is a good one. I really enjoyed the flavor of just cherries and bananas. My kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Made it just as it said. WONDERFUL! Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Because my banana was frozen, I did not add the ice cubes. I didn't have greek yogurt on hand but I did have light vanilla bean yogurt, so I used that in it's place. I threw in a couple tablespoons of ground flax seed at the last minute. Quite good! I was able to clear some of last year's cherries out of my deep freeze and have a healthy smoothie to start out my day. I really liked the combination of the cherries, banana and lemon together, with the faint hint of almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Was looking for a cool treat and came across this recipe. Like others, I used frozen fruit, no ice cubes. Also substituted unsweetened vanilla almond milk for the yogurt. YUM! My four-year-old son, throwing a tantrum because he couldn't have a popsicle or ice cream finally took a sip. He said "It does taste like a popsicle. Mommy made a popsicle smoothie!" Thanks for a great new favorite treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I used homemade plain yogurt and vanilla extract, other than that I followed the recipe and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Silly me, I didn't check to make sure that we had enough ice to make this, so of course, there were only three ice cubes left in the tray. I decided to add a half cup of milk to make up for the missing liquid. It may have been a weird substitution but hey, it worked and I may just make it that way on purpose from now on! I also used vanilla instead of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I cut this down to one serving, and used no fat greek yogurt instead of low fat. Other than that, I tried to make it as is. However, my blender wouldn't blend the mixture at all, so I added some coconut water. It was pretty good, not the best smoothie I have had, and still plenty thick even with the coconut water added. (I think it was about 1/4 cup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I would give this recipe four and a half stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEME
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Substituted vanilla for almond extract and omitted ice cubes as frozen cherries as it was already thick because of the cherries. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I rarely find smoothie recipes that use cherries so I had to try this one. I used frozen cherries so I didn't use any ice. And I didn't have any yogurt so I added a scoop of vanilla protein powder and soy milk. It still came out pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States