Cherry Balsamic Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Used the gel kind of beef stock instead of demiglace and if you make yours in a la creuset of the size I use, it will spill if you do the full amount of chicken broth. I fix this by adding only half when it says to, then the ribs and cherries as instructed, and then filling it to about 1/8th of an inch below the edge. I've made this recipe 3 times, it is probably my favorite thing in the world. If you can easily fish out the bay leaves, rosemary and thyme branches there is no reason to toss the vegetables, they taste just as amazing as the ribs. (I still remove and strain them to make the gravy separately, I just serve them as a side dish). LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
True there are several steps but was well worth it. My family really enjoyed this- from my two year old to my picky husband. Improvised a bit based upon what I had in my pantry. Used regular coke and 1/2 c pomegranate molasses (to sub for the idea of cherries). The recipe is perfect as written though- even with fennel which I absolutely love. The only problem is I didn't make enough! I needed to figure at least two ribs per person and 3 lbs did not cover our group of 6. Next time I will make double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this yesterday for company (I called them my guinea pigs). I did not have a dutch oven or a cast iron pot and wasn't going out to buy one...so I USED THE CROCKPOT!! First I browned the ribs on each side, then sauted the onions, carrots and fennel (Only used 1/2 the fennel bc I was scared) and I omitted the celery only bc I didn't have it, and added all the liquid ingredients (I used beef broth and not chicken) and the cherries, which were sweet cherries, not tart, frozen bag from Publix. I did not use demi-glace bc I didn't know what the hek it was, and I sure wasn't going to buy it only for 2.5 tablespoons. Then I threw everything in crockpot, along w/ the rosemary, thyme and basil. Cooked on high for 1 hour and then low for 7 hours. Then I made rue w/ the leftover juice in crockpot bc w/ the crockpot I felt the liquid was too thin. I took 1/2 stick of butter and melted it in saucepan and added wondra flour and whisked then I added a ladle at a time of the liquid from crockpot and kept whisking until I got the consistency I wanted. Added salt and pepper and then served over the ribs. IT WAS ABSOULUTE FREAKING AMAZING!!! I made 3 lbs of short ribs for 4 people and there was none left over! Two of the guys eating w/ us were huge eaters. Everyone LOVED LOVED LOVED!!! THIS IS ACTUALLY A 10-STAR DINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Not as flavorful/savory as I was expecting Especially for the amount of time involved to prepare. I will continue to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was delicious! I used cherry juice and beef broth. Left out the cherries! And I added some garlic. It was a hit....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The ribs were fall off the bone tender and tasty but a lot of time and energy, not to mention the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made short ribs using this recipe yesterday (2/24/13) and the dish was fantastic! The meat was fork tender and has a fabulous taste. I didn't follow the recipe 100% because I couldn't find some ingredients, but I followed it for the most part. I will definitely put this recipe in my rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Received no feedback from the dinner table on this; made as written. the meat was very tender but i feel there was a lot of waste as far as ingredients go. I couldn't taste the fennel, therefore don't know if it is as imporant of an ingredient. i could not find 'tart' frozen cherries. had to use regular. i couldn't get the sauce to thicken after reducing for quite a long time; had to add a little cornstarch. i guess this just isn't for us, delicious as it was. thanks for the post foodlover83!**edit - just had the leftovers tonight. i have to say the sauce is very good; maybe it's just that my ribs were very, very fatty making this not as enjoyable as they could have been.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made the recipe as is and it turned out great. I served over a garlic and thyme infused mashed potato and roasted sweet carrots on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustbunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was delicious and the meat was melt in your mouth tender. I made my own demi-glace (much cheaper than buying the stuff) by using a can of beef consomme and a tbsp of butter. I boiled it until it was reduced to about 1/4 cup. Then I mixed 1/2 tsp corn starch with a tbsp of water and added it the reduced consomme and cooked until thickened. I also had to used a can of pitted tart cherries - as they were out of frozen at the store. I did not use rosemary or fennel because I don't like them. I used a Pinot Noir. No reason to spend a bunch of money on Burgundy wine, but spend enough so you want to drink what is leftover :)After browning the first 1/2 of the ribs, it wasn't necessary to add more oil to brown the other 1/2. I also used the fat that remained in the pan to saute the veges. I gave this recipe 4 stars because it only took 2.5 hours. They would have been overcooked had I left them for the 3.5-4 hours as suggested in the recipe. Also, there was just way too much liquid imo. Next time I am going to reduce the chicken broth by 1/2 and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States