Cherry Balsamic Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good!! Will make again. I used 2 cans cherries, then used juice from the can in addition to the wine in deglazing. I used my pancake griddle to brown everything--best way to do it, everything is spread apart so it doesn't lose juice, only nicely brown. I really browned the veg to give flavor to the stew, used no fennel, can't stand the stuff! I dbld the bay, and used beef consomme instead of demiglace. Also used beef broth instead of chicken, not sure why you would use chicken in this dish. 2.5-3h was more than enough, the meat was way over done at 4h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe. I substituted 1 (24) oz jar of Trader Joes dark Morello cherries in light syrup for frozen cherries and cherry soda with superb results. I cooked this a day ahead and skimmed the fat off the sauce before reheating. It would make an excellent dish during the holidays when you want to have as much as possible prepared in advance. Serve with yams, green beans, rosemary bread and a Pinot Noir wine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was so delicious! I made it exactly as the recipes says and was great. Really not difficult just some prep work involved. I saved the sauce and have put it on everything!! My husband doesn't even like cherries but LOVED this. Planning this for Christmas dinner now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I just made this tonight for Christmas dinner with the family. ...This recipe is AMAZING! period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I found some discounted short ribs at my favorite supermarket and was looking for a recipe that didn't involve tomatoes. This was fabulous! I followed the advise of another reviewer and used a jar of Trader Joe's morello cherries with their juice instead of the cherry cola and frozen cherries. I also left out the rosemary (I can't stand it) and the fennel. Also beef demi-glace is very difficult to find and when one does find it, it is very expensive. I just used a can of beef consume which I reduced and that seemed to work fine. I couldn't bring myself to discard the vegetable and cherry solids. Why spend the money on the cherries just to throw them away? So I served them on the side. This was an incredible dish and my husband and I finished every scrap. Thank you for the recipe, foodlover83!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made these for my boyfriend's birthday and they were AMAZING. The house smelled insane while I was preparing them - I felt like a chef. That being said, I couldn't really detect the cherry-based ingredients in the finished product. Just savory and delectable gourmet short ribs. I think next time I will decrease some of the chicken stock and add the juice from the cherries instead (recipe didn't say to add it and by the time I added the cherries there was already a scary amount of liquid in my French oven). I will DEFINITELY make these again, next time for company. I served mine with caramelized shallot smashed potatoes and a green apple-gorgonzola-walnut salad. Thank you foodlover!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe except for omitting the fennel ( I'm scared of it) and the rosemary. It came out a rich dark mahogany color and the taste was out of this world good. I was driving him crazy with the smell of it cooking all afternoon he kept asking when's dinner! I served it with buttered egg noodles and hubby can't wait for the leftovers. A must try if you like short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
These ribs are well worth the effort. Such depth of flavor. The house smelled divine when cooking. I made a cherry cola using regular cola and adding a splash of Maraschino cherry juice. The meat you could cut with a feather, the sauce magnificent. Buttered egg noodles paired nicely. Thanks Jrbaker for the recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is a restaurant quality dish... especially served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes. Rave reviews from all who ate it, and it was my first attempt at short ribs. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was so great! I couldn't find frozen cherries so I used sour cherries in a light syrup and replaced the syrup for the cherry cola. Doubled the recipe and cooked in a covered roasting pan with no problems. We also served the left over veggies instead of discarding. they're not pretty - but oh so tasty. Thank you for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States