Cherry Balsamic Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe took some time but it was WELL worth it. I made it exactly how it was written and I'm so glad I did. Great tasting, tender, the gravy was awesome on potatos. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Let me start out by saying this: We rarely eat beef at our house, maybe 6 times a year tops. This recipe was so delicious, my husband ranked it as one if the best things I've ever made AND he was looking for more when we were finished! I made it exactly as written, with the exception of discarding the veggies and cherries after taking the ribs out of the oven. When you work hard at it, why throw away the delicious flavor from those ingredients? Just pick out the bay leaves and herb stems, and serve with the ribs. Divine! Worthy of company, worthy of family dinner, and worthy of a 10 star review. Thanks so much for a delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe. I substituted 1 (24) oz jar of Trader Joes dark Morello cherries in light syrup for frozen cherries and cherry soda with superb results. I cooked this a day ahead and skimmed the fat off the sauce before reheating. It would make an excellent dish during the holidays when you want to have as much as possible prepared in advance. Serve with yams, green beans, rosemary bread and a Pinot Noir wine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good!! Will make again. I used 2 cans cherries, then used juice from the can in addition to the wine in deglazing. I used my pancake griddle to brown everything--best way to do it, everything is spread apart so it doesn't lose juice, only nicely brown. I really browned the veg to give flavor to the stew, used no fennel, can't stand the stuff! I dbld the bay, and used beef consomme instead of demiglace. Also used beef broth instead of chicken, not sure why you would use chicken in this dish. 2.5-3h was more than enough, the meat was way over done at 4h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I found some discounted short ribs at my favorite supermarket and was looking for a recipe that didn't involve tomatoes. This was fabulous! I followed the advise of another reviewer and used a jar of Trader Joe's morello cherries with their juice instead of the cherry cola and frozen cherries. I also left out the rosemary (I can't stand it) and the fennel. Also beef demi-glace is very difficult to find and when one does find it, it is very expensive. I just used a can of beef consume which I reduced and that seemed to work fine. I couldn't bring myself to discard the vegetable and cherry solids. Why spend the money on the cherries just to throw them away? So I served them on the side. This was an incredible dish and my husband and I finished every scrap. Thank you for the recipe, foodlover83!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made these for my boyfriend's birthday and they were AMAZING. The house smelled insane while I was preparing them - I felt like a chef. That being said, I couldn't really detect the cherry-based ingredients in the finished product. Just savory and delectable gourmet short ribs. I think next time I will decrease some of the chicken stock and add the juice from the cherries instead (recipe didn't say to add it and by the time I added the cherries there was already a scary amount of liquid in my French oven). I will DEFINITELY make these again, next time for company. I served mine with caramelized shallot smashed potatoes and a green apple-gorgonzola-walnut salad. Thank you foodlover!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe except for omitting the fennel ( I'm scared of it) and the rosemary. It came out a rich dark mahogany color and the taste was out of this world good. I was driving him crazy with the smell of it cooking all afternoon he kept asking when's dinner! I served it with buttered egg noodles and hubby can't wait for the leftovers. A must try if you like short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was so delicious! I made it exactly as the recipes says and was great. Really not difficult just some prep work involved. I saved the sauce and have put it on everything!! My husband doesn't even like cherries but LOVED this. Planning this for Christmas dinner now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I just made this tonight for Christmas dinner with the family. ...This recipe is AMAZING! period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was delicious and the meat was melt in your mouth tender. I made my own demi-glace (much cheaper than buying the stuff) by using a can of beef consomme and a tbsp of butter. I boiled it until it was reduced to about 1/4 cup. Then I mixed 1/2 tsp corn starch with a tbsp of water and added it the reduced consomme and cooked until thickened. I also had to used a can of pitted tart cherries - as they were out of frozen at the store. I did not use rosemary or fennel because I don't like them. I used a Pinot Noir. No reason to spend a bunch of money on Burgundy wine, but spend enough so you want to drink what is leftover :)After browning the first 1/2 of the ribs, it wasn't necessary to add more oil to brown the other 1/2. I also used the fat that remained in the pan to saute the veges. I gave this recipe 4 stars because it only took 2.5 hours. They would have been overcooked had I left them for the 3.5-4 hours as suggested in the recipe. Also, there was just way too much liquid imo. Next time I am going to reduce the chicken broth by 1/2 and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States