Cherry Balsamic Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe took some time but it was WELL worth it. I made it exactly how it was written and I'm so glad I did. Great tasting, tender, the gravy was awesome on potatos. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
VERY good! It does take a little time, but it is worth it. My hubby couldn't get enough. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Let me start out by saying this: We rarely eat beef at our house, maybe 6 times a year tops. This recipe was so delicious, my husband ranked it as one if the best things I've ever made AND he was looking for more when we were finished! I made it exactly as written, with the exception of discarding the veggies and cherries after taking the ribs out of the oven. When you work hard at it, why throw away the delicious flavor from those ingredients? Just pick out the bay leaves and herb stems, and serve with the ribs. Divine! Worthy of company, worthy of family dinner, and worthy of a 10 star review. Thanks so much for a delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't usually write reviews but this was sooo good I had to. I had never made short ribs before, only ordered them in restaurants. It was easy; although a little time consuming it was worth it. All my children loved them and even my brother said VERY good (when usually "okay" is his response). There was more than enough sauce, so I saved some in the freezer and served with turkey for another meal. YUM! I'm going to make these for X-Mas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Did not have fennel or celery, used freshly ground dried herbs, used strawberry soda. The ribs still turned out great. I would agree with jrbaker- the carrots and cherries were a nice flavorful side to the meat. We served it over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reardan, Washington, USA
Living In: Ritzville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
These ribs are well worth the effort. Such depth of flavor. The house smelled divine when cooking. I made a cherry cola using regular cola and adding a splash of Maraschino cherry juice. The meat you could cut with a feather, the sauce magnificent. Buttered egg noodles paired nicely. Thanks Jrbaker for the recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good!! Will make again. I used 2 cans cherries, then used juice from the can in addition to the wine in deglazing. I used my pancake griddle to brown everything--best way to do it, everything is spread apart so it doesn't lose juice, only nicely brown. I really browned the veg to give flavor to the stew, used no fennel, can't stand the stuff! I dbld the bay, and used beef consomme instead of demiglace. Also used beef broth instead of chicken, not sure why you would use chicken in this dish. 2.5-3h was more than enough, the meat was way over done at 4h.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe. I substituted 1 (24) oz jar of Trader Joes dark Morello cherries in light syrup for frozen cherries and cherry soda with superb results. I cooked this a day ahead and skimmed the fat off the sauce before reheating. It would make an excellent dish during the holidays when you want to have as much as possible prepared in advance. Serve with yams, green beans, rosemary bread and a Pinot Noir wine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was so delicious! I made it exactly as the recipes says and was great. Really not difficult just some prep work involved. I saved the sauce and have put it on everything!! My husband doesn't even like cherries but LOVED this. Planning this for Christmas dinner now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe! I followed the recipe except for omitting the fennel ( I'm scared of it) and the rosemary. It came out a rich dark mahogany color and the taste was out of this world good. I was driving him crazy with the smell of it cooking all afternoon he kept asking when's dinner! I served it with buttered egg noodles and hubby can't wait for the leftovers. A must try if you like short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States